MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Discussion related to the LuxCore functionality, implementations and API.
User avatar
patro
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:09 pm
Location: mount Etna

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by patro » Fri Jan 22, 2021 4:46 pm

Hi TAO, the cut edge is gone. To do so there is a setting to flag. see attachment
But the strange deformation of the reflected lights and metric grid is not all gone, right near the cutted holes you will notice a deviation of the grid lines from its natural path. Strange that it doesn't happen with vray.
2021-01-22_163848.jpg

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Posts: 371
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by TAO » Fri Jan 22, 2021 5:12 pm

I think the luxCore behavior is normal but I don't know why is not happening with Vray.
I need to check that, maybe, they are welding close vertexes on the translation process.
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)
Latest build Download link👇👇
https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/MaxToLux/releases
Last update information
https://forums.luxcorerender.org/viewto ... 378#p28378

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Posts: 371
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by TAO » Sat Jan 23, 2021 2:48 pm

better support of bump map on GPU.
none-color-space-bump.jpg
none-color-space-bump-2.jpg
none-color-space-bump-3.jpg
none-color-space-bump-3.jpg (62.2 KiB) Viewed 920 times
There is an issue that still remains that any color map texture will affect defuse color but I'm working on it.
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)
Latest build Download link👇👇
https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/MaxToLux/releases
Last update information
https://forums.luxcorerender.org/viewto ... 378#p28378

User avatar
patro
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:09 pm
Location: mount Etna

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by patro » Sat Jan 23, 2021 2:59 pm

Hi TAO, when will you release the next build?

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Posts: 371
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by TAO » Sat Jan 23, 2021 9:38 pm

patro wrote:
Sat Jan 23, 2021 2:59 pm
Hi TAO, when will you release the next build?
As soon as I implement the code for multi-sub material or material-ID.
It should not take longer than 1 week.
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)
Latest build Download link👇👇
https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/MaxToLux/releases
Last update information
https://forums.luxcorerender.org/viewto ... 378#p28378

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Posts: 371
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by TAO » Mon Jan 25, 2021 10:17 am

As Dade mention, 3dsmax scenes are way big compare to what we see in almost all other software, so I add a method to match 3dsmax scenes in the metric systems to other software like blender.
It works for LuxCore too and has a huge impact on the render results.

The Old scene with no scale match.
01.jpg
The new one in the metric system with scene match.
02.jpg
now every scene should be scale as LuxCore expected.
In addition, I add two parameters for the usual scene that does not in the metric system unit.

Code: Select all

scene.epsilon.min = 0.01
scene.epsilon.max = 0.1
it's a bit different from the scale size match but work perfectly with adding a little bit of extra time to render.
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)
Latest build Download link👇👇
https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/MaxToLux/releases
Last update information
https://forums.luxcorerender.org/viewto ... 378#p28378

User avatar
patro
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:09 pm
Location: mount Etna

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by patro » Mon Jan 25, 2021 10:37 am

TAO wrote:
Mon Jan 25, 2021 10:17 am
It works for LuxCore too and has a huge impact on the render results.
Hi, just to get you right, does this also makes rendering 3ds max user faster as we are used now with LuxCore?

by the way, is it possible to ad rendertime to maxtolux? would be nice add to know, how long it takes to render a given scene

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Posts: 371
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by TAO » Mon Jan 25, 2021 12:42 pm

patro wrote:
Mon Jan 25, 2021 10:37 am
TAO wrote:
Mon Jan 25, 2021 10:17 am
It works for LuxCore too and has a huge impact on the render results.
Hi, just to get you right, does this also makes rendering 3ds max user faster as we are used now with LuxCore?

by the way, is it possible to ad rendertime to maxtolux? would be nice add to know, how long it takes to render a given scene
you mean like a stamp to write text on image?
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)
Latest build Download link👇👇
https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/MaxToLux/releases
Last update information
https://forums.luxcorerender.org/viewto ... 378#p28378

User avatar
patro
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:09 pm
Location: mount Etna

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by patro » Mon Jan 25, 2021 2:32 pm

TAO wrote:
Mon Jan 25, 2021 12:42 pm
patro wrote:
Mon Jan 25, 2021 10:37 am
TAO wrote:
Mon Jan 25, 2021 10:17 am
It works for LuxCore too and has a huge impact on the render results.
Hi, just to get you right, does this also makes rendering 3ds max user faster as we are used now with LuxCore?

by the way, is it possible to ad rendertime to maxtolux? would be nice add to know, how long it takes to render a given scene
you mean like a stamp to write text on image?
yes, or maybe as renderers does in 3ds max, in the lower left corner of the 3ds max UI, this information is available after rendering end.
Vray does deliver this information too in the same way,
QQ.png

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Posts: 371
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by TAO » Mon Jan 25, 2021 6:32 pm

patro wrote:
Mon Jan 25, 2021 2:32 pm
TAO wrote:
Mon Jan 25, 2021 12:42 pm
patro wrote:
Mon Jan 25, 2021 10:37 am

Hi, just to get you right, does this also makes rendering 3ds max user faster as we are used now with LuxCore?

by the way, is it possible to ad rendertime to maxtolux? would be nice add to know, how long it takes to render a given scene
you mean like a stamp to write text on image?
yes, or maybe as renderers does in 3ds max, in the lower left corner of the 3ds max UI, this information is available after rendering end.
Vray does deliver this information too in the same way,
Good idea, I'll try to add it in the next build.
you can add a feature request to the GitHub repository too.
That makes it easier to keep tracking of features and bugs.
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)
Latest build Download link👇👇
https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/MaxToLux/releases
Last update information
https://forums.luxcorerender.org/viewto ... 378#p28378

Post Reply