MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Discussion related to the Engine functionality, implementations and API.
Post Reply
User avatar
TAO
Developer
Developer
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by TAO » Tue Sep 24, 2019 5:38 am

Hi.
I need a little help here with open cl devices.
i use select devices like this "opencl.devices.select = 11\n"); and it work perfectly on one of my machine with AMD Gpu but when i used it on another machine with nvidia Gpu it show an error "OpenCL device selection string has the wrong length, must be 1 instead of 2" and as you can see clearly luxcore detect just one openCl device.

I even try to use GetOpenCLDeviceDescs(); to detect Gpus but got no where as i can see first and secound device in return.
what's the problem here ?

Annotation 2019-09-24 090048.png
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3288
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by Dade » Tue Sep 24, 2019 7:52 am

Can you post the complete output of clinfo ? It is usually included with OpenCL drivers otherwise it should be available here: https://github.com/Oblomov/clinfo (https://ci.appveyor.com/api/projects/ob ... orm%3a+x64)

You could have a second Intel OpenCL platform without devices :idea:
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Developer
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by TAO » Tue Sep 24, 2019 8:17 am

Dade wrote:
Tue Sep 24, 2019 7:52 am
Can you post the complete output of clinfo? It is usually included with OpenCL drivers otherwise it should be available here: https://github.com/Oblomov/clinfo (https://ci.appveyor.com/api/projects/ob ... orm%3a+x64)

You could have a second Intel OpenCL platform without devices :idea:
Hi Dade.
here is the clinfo you asked for.
clinfo.zip
(2.81 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3288
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by Dade » Tue Sep 24, 2019 8:31 am

TAO wrote:
Tue Sep 24, 2019 8:17 am
here is the clinfo you asked for.

clinfo.zip
It looks ok.

Are you using some other "opencl.*" property for LuxCore ? Like the one to explicit select the platform or to use only GPUs or CPUs devices. Can you run LuxMark and LuxCoreUI to check how many devices they see ? In LuxCoreUI there is a menu Windows => OpenCL device editor option to check the devices available.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Developer
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by TAO » Tue Sep 24, 2019 8:50 am

Interesting, i ran luxmark and i can see only one device in there too.

Annotation 2019-09-24 121712.png
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3288
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by Dade » Tue Sep 24, 2019 9:23 am

TAO wrote:
Tue Sep 24, 2019 8:50 am
Interesting, i ran luxmark and i can see only one device in there too.


Annotation 2019-09-24 121712.png
Sometime, Windows updates break driver installation, the Intel OpenCL platoform may be broken, you could try to re-install, it usually fixes the problem.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Developer
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by TAO » Tue Sep 24, 2019 9:24 am

My problem is Gpu openCl, Cpu openCl works perfect.
Also i reinstall Gpu driver multiple times.
Last edited by TAO on Tue Sep 24, 2019 10:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Developer
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by TAO » Tue Sep 24, 2019 9:57 am

I reinstall GPU driver and run some other applications to see if openCl works or not and it's working.
But with luxcore same as past, not even detected !

Annotation 2019-09-24 132305.png
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Developer
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by TAO » Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:20 pm

Any suggestions here?
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3288
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by Dade » Tue Sep 24, 2019 1:52 pm

TAO wrote:
Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:20 pm
Any suggestions here?
I have sincerely no idea, the fact that LuxMark doesn't recognize your Nvidia platform is very strange and it is the same, many years old, executable that has been tested on hundred of thousands of OpenCL installations.

I would try to remove the Intel OpenCL, than re-install Nvidia drivers and check how LuxMark work at that point.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Post Reply