LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

News & Announcements regarding releases, features, exporters and project coordination.
User avatar
Racleborg
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:31 am
Location: UK

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by Racleborg » Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:12 am

I would like to make another panel with more in-depth information about the export process, so you can easily spot the objects/particles that slow down the export the most.
Sounds really exciting! :D

wasd
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:20 pm

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by wasd » Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:11 am

I can no longer change number of CPU threads while rendering.
CPU Bidir + Metropolis | Log Power | Core i5-4570

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 1187
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by Dade » Sat Aug 11, 2018 6:10 pm

wasd wrote:
Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:11 am
I can no longer change number of CPU threads while rendering.
it was never possible :?:
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

wasd
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 7:20 pm

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by wasd » Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:17 pm

Dade wrote:
Sat Aug 11, 2018 6:10 pm
wasd wrote:
Sat Aug 11, 2018 11:11 am
I can no longer change number of CPU threads while rendering.
it was never possible :?:
That's strange :? I'm pretty sure it was. Well, it would be nice if it would be possible.
CPU Bidir + Metropolis | Log Power | Core i5-4570

User avatar
SATtva
Supporting Users
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 10:27 am
Contact:

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by SATtva » Sun Aug 12, 2018 4:02 am

It was supported in the classic Lux only.

FarbigeWelt
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 12:07 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by FarbigeWelt » Sun Aug 12, 2018 12:53 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:43 am

Thanks for testing. Can you create github issues for each of the points you mentioned?
Still reports repeating internal phyton error in console using view port.
Please also include the exact error message for this one, and a scene.
As mentioned I' ve noticed the repeating reporting python internal error using alpha 2 and 3. Unfortunately, I was not able to find a reliable reproduction. The exact error message does not help a lot becuase it reports something like python internal error and this error should not happen.
Instagrammer, please join #luxcorerender for your renderings.

FarbigeWelt
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 12:07 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by FarbigeWelt » Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:40 pm

FarbigeWelt wrote:
Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:13 am
B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:01 am
FarbigeWelt wrote:
Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:52 am
And making leafs ‚real‘ leads to lots of objects or ist here a way to combine the leafs directly into one mesh object?
Ctrl+J (join).
Okay, I have to try this before making leafs ‚real‘.

Because joinig several hundreds of selected objects takes time and makes not much sense.
Meanwhile I tried joining leaves from curve sapling tree directly. This is not possible. You have to make duplicates real first and ensure there are only leaves selected you want to join (exlude leaf object in tree object).

Unfortunately, I've joined leaves and tree (tree is a curve, has to be converted to mesh before joining) to get one mesh object. In material node for image texture one gets a note like lucxore does support one UV only. This means joining mesh objects with different 2D UV materials is currently very limited.

Gladly enough, particle systems supports groups, important here is to check whole group, otherwise each grouped object gets its own position, rotation, whatever.

Luxcore addon reports 1.3 GTris, Blender reports 0.9 MB and task manager reports 2.7 GB for blender for HD resolution GPU path tile animation rendering, exports png 8 bit. There are 250 trees, each with 1'000 leaves, each leaf with about 80 vertexes. Leaf matrial: glossy with an image texture 250x500.
Exported, compressed blender file size is 100 MB, not compressed 500 MB.
Preparing and compiling for 2 GPU takes around 33 s. In my opinion luxcore's memory usage for this scence is a good value. :)

Before I modelled a flat mesh with the leaf's visual shape, I tried to use the a straight forward approach mapping leaf's image, contains transparency, to a simple rectangle. But I failed to setup leaf's material to interprete transparency as opacity.

Does anybody know how to use transparency for image texture materials with luxcore blender addon? :?:
(I know one can chose image's alpha chanel but I don't mean that one.)
Instagrammer, please join #luxcorerender for your renderings.

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1325
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Sun Aug 12, 2018 3:06 pm

FarbigeWelt wrote:
Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:40 pm
Does anybody know how to use transparency for image texture materials with luxcore blender addon?
(I know one can chose image's alpha chanel but I don't mean that one.)
Attachments
2018-08-12_17-04-20.png
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

FarbigeWelt
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 12:07 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by FarbigeWelt » Sun Aug 12, 2018 3:19 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Sun Aug 12, 2018 3:06 pm
FarbigeWelt wrote:
Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:40 pm
Does anybody know how to use transparency for image texture materials with luxcore blender addon?
(I know one can chose image's alpha chanel but I don't mean that one.)
Great! Thank you much B.Y.O.B.!

Sometimes one doesn't see the wood for the trees:
Foresting.jpg
Foresting
and animated:
https://youtu.be/gnmHiFLj9wA
Instagrammer, please join #luxcorerender for your renderings.

User avatar
fluxfish
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 9:27 pm

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by fluxfish » Tue Aug 14, 2018 8:45 pm

I'm really excited about the further steps and development of LuxCore 2.0+, so big thanks and greetings fly out to the dev-Team *thumb up*

I tried my very best to install any of the 2.1alpha-releases, so also
BlendLuxCore-v2.1alpha3-win64.zip
BlendLuxCore-v2.1alpha3-win64-opencl.zip
but still couldn't manage it :? :?:
BlendLuxCore-v2.0-win64-opencl.zip however works :P

The given error-message is the following one
Error.png
Any ideas?

Blender 2.79b official release
System: Win7 64bit, Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, CPU AMD Phenom II, 24GB Ram

Post Reply