LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

News & Announcements regarding releases, features, exporters and project coordination.
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1325
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Wed Aug 08, 2018 1:03 pm

New LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 release is available.

v2.1 release notes are available here: https://wiki.luxcorerender.org/LuxCoreR ... Notes_v2.1

Changes in LuxCore since v2.1alpha2:
  • Fixed a radiance group related regression (issue #121)
  • Fixed a crash when using FILESAVER with DLSC
  • Fixed FILESAVER textures/materials export order after an editing of an existing texture/material
  • Fixed a bug in area light power computation in Material::GetEmittedRadianceY() and causing wrong results with power based light strategies
  • Added an new LightSource interface method to check if a point is always in shadow in order to accellerate DLSC
  • Fixed bug where lxs scenes without IES would have an invalid IES property set.
  • Fixed a problem when using many layers of transparent object (#124)
  • Fixed a problem when stopping and restarting the same session
Changes in BlendLuxCore since v2.1alpha2:
  • Fix DOF object not working as expected (#196)
  • show a warning if the scene contains a lot of light sources
  • expose direct light type property of triangle meshes
  • new render statistics panel in the image editor toolshelf (LuxCore category),
    provides in-depth render information with option to compare two render slots
  • Support for image sequences
  • Improved export process and viewport render updates
LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 files

BlendLuxCore is available here: https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/BlendL ... v2.1alpha3

Standalone LuxCoreRender is available here: https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/LuxCor ... v2.1alpha3

If you have BlendLuxCore already installed, you can update with a few clicks in the User Preferences:
https://wiki.luxcorerender.org/BlendLux ... stallation
Note that there was a bug in the updater which was fixed in v2.1alpha1.
It prevents you from updating from v2.1alpha0 or earlier to versions after v2.1alpha0.
So you can only use the updater if you have at least v2.1alpha1 installed.

Note for Windows users: due to a bug (https://github.com/embree/embree/issues/195) in Embree v3.2.0, you need to install also the Intel C++ redistributable (https://software.intel.com/sites/defaul ... .3.210.zip) on Windows
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
Sharlybg
Supporting Users
Posts: 640
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by Sharlybg » Wed Aug 08, 2018 1:11 pm

Thanks guys for all the effort.

This Update button is such a magic feature like using a year 3075 software so class :ugeek:
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

lacilaci
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by lacilaci » Wed Aug 08, 2018 1:49 pm

I downloaded 64bit windows opencl version and when I want to switch to opencl I get error saying this version doesn't support opencl. Anybody else experiencing this issue?

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 1187
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by Dade » Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:23 pm

lacilaci wrote:
Wed Aug 08, 2018 1:49 pm
I downloaded 64bit windows opencl version and when I want to switch to opencl I get error saying this version doesn't support opencl. Anybody else experiencing this issue?
The Windows archive names seem to be swapped. I should have fixed the standalone version files. Simon, you need to fix the Blender version too.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

FarbigeWelt
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 12:07 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by FarbigeWelt » Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:39 pm

Great news! Cannot wait to get home and use the new power of your software!
Instagrammer, please join #luxcorerender for your renderings.

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1325
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:57 pm

Dade wrote:
Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:23 pm
he Windows archive names seem to be swapped. I should have fixed the standalone version files. Simon, you need to fix the Blender version too.
Ok, done.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

lacilaci
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by lacilaci » Wed Aug 08, 2018 3:18 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:57 pm
Dade wrote:
Wed Aug 08, 2018 2:23 pm
he Windows archive names seem to be swapped. I should have fixed the standalone version files. Simon, you need to fix the Blender version too.
Ok, done.
Can I use alt+d for instancing now?

User avatar
Sharlybg
Supporting Users
Posts: 640
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by Sharlybg » Wed Aug 08, 2018 3:49 pm

it 's a clear improvement in viewport render thanks you ;) .About viewport render is it possible to expose rendering start resolution also like in cycles it could improve thing too.
opencl.jpg
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1325
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Wed Aug 08, 2018 3:57 pm

lacilaci wrote:
Wed Aug 08, 2018 3:18 pm
Can I use alt+d for instancing now?
Yes, but only if the objects have no deforming modifiers (see viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9&start=360#p5114).
Sharlybg wrote:
Wed Aug 08, 2018 3:49 pm
About viewport render is it possible to expose rendering start resolution also like in cycles it could improve thing too.
I'll look into it.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

lacilaci
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha3 released

Post by lacilaci » Wed Aug 08, 2018 4:03 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Wed Aug 08, 2018 3:57 pm
lacilaci wrote:
Wed Aug 08, 2018 3:18 pm
Can I use alt+d for instancing now?
Yes, but only if the objects have no deforming modifiers (see viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9&start=360#p5114).
Sharlybg wrote:
Wed Aug 08, 2018 3:49 pm
About viewport render is it possible to expose rendering start resolution also like in cycles it could improve thing too.
I'll look into it.
Thanks will test. Having some crashes on windows when I want to use opencl in viewport. Can't test more today though.

Post Reply