material and lightning setup advice needed

Post your tests, experiments and unfinished renderings here.
Post Reply
mnm
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue May 08, 2018 6:31 am

material and lightning setup advice needed

Post by mnm »

I try make corridor with doors.

When I use glossy shader I got this:
glossy door shader
glossy door shader
There is noticeable difference in glossy on left door.
glossy_door_mat.png

With Disney shader I got this:
disney door shader
disney door shader
disney_door_mat.png
I don't understand why it is different in case of glossy shader. Sometimes use of glossy shader is enough but I don't mind use Disney instead. Is there situation when is better use one than the other?

For floor material, do you think it needs some tweaking? I somehow 'feel' more bump and maybe less glossy/roughness.
disney floor shader
disney floor shader
disney_floor_mat.png
Martini
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 11:36 am
Location: Australia

Re: material and lightning setup advice needed

Post by Martini »

mnm wrote: Thu May 12, 2022 12:36 pm There is noticeable difference in glossy on left door.
Could it be the object normals? Check using the facing direction overlay (every face should have a BLUE overlay) and recalculate normals if needed. Also check that in case you might have custom split normals data (Object Data properties -> Geometry Data) and clear that, recalculate normals after.

When weird shading problems, always check normals :)
i9 9900K @ 5000MHz | 2x Gigabyte AORUS RTX 2080 Ti Extreme Waterforce WB 11G @ 2010MHz
Z390 Aorus Pro | 32GB Kingston HyperX Predator RGB @ 4300MHz
mnm
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue May 08, 2018 6:31 am

Re: material and lightning setup advice needed

Post by mnm »

I am in hurry so just quick notes:

- normals - I know this but normals are alright
- custom split normals data - i don't know about this but i don't use any

I found out that if object is copied with 'shift+D' there is no problem with shader. If it is copied with 'alt+D' the problem exist. Strange is that the door rim is also copied with 'alt+D' and shader seems ok.
Post Reply