How to get Godrays

General project and community related discussions and offtopic threads.
jorari71
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:48 am

How to get Godrays

Post by jorari71 »

Hello mates.
I am trying to create some good reays from my robot and I don't know how to get them.
Although I don't know if this effect is compatible with a clean and clear view of my robot, but I want to emit some light beam from some emitters of my robot.
I tried to add an homogeneous volume for the environment.
And I did a test in this scene with two cases:
A).-From a material emitter.
B).-From a light source, in this case a planar light with laser option chacked.
I think I'm to only one step close to achieve my goal but I need help of some master in Luxcore, render engine which I LOVE A LOT.
What do you think? Can anyone help me?
Thanks in advance.
Questions.jpg
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3075
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: How to get Godrays

Post by Sharlybg »

you can follow this example:

Blend
Robot.blend
(964.9 KiB) Downloaded 33 times
just make sure your camera origine is a bit beyond the volume box.
And bidir seem to magnify theses kind of scenes.

render
rob.jpg
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA
jorari71
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:48 am

Re: How to get Godrays

Post by jorari71 »

Hello.
Thank you very much for your quick answer!
Oh, I didn't added a volume box. Maybe was this.
Can't wait to try your advice!
Thank you very much! As always. ;)
I will show you the result.
Rgards.
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3075
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: How to get Godrays

Post by Sharlybg »

You can use a world volume or a box like i did.
It is just a different method.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA
jorari71
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:48 am

Re: How to get Godrays

Post by jorari71 »

Aha.
If my model is around 100m tall (100 times bigger than your cube), how should I set the volume nodes' values (in both cases: box or world volume) ?
Questions2.jpg
Thanks in advance
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3075
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: How to get Godrays

Post by Sharlybg »

Make the scatering scale much smaller 10x for example.
Increase your light source power. You can also make absorption deph much higher 10x to see.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA
jorari71
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:48 am

Re: How to get Godrays

Post by jorari71 »

Is it compatible with Lightgroups?
I say that in order to work faster with the best quality.
Thank you!
kintuX
Posts: 770
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:37 am

Re: How to get Godrays

Post by kintuX »

BTW
For a simple fog, only World volume is needed.
eg
WorldWideFooog.jpg
Attachments
WorlWideFooog.blend
(135.7 KiB) Downloaded 30 times
jorari71
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:48 am

Re: How to get Godrays

Post by jorari71 »

I'm sorry:
"For a simple fog, only World volume is needed".

Your scene is empty. :roll:
jorari71
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:48 am

Re: How to get Godrays

Post by jorari71 »

WEll, this is almost solved:
Questions2_almost_solved.jpg
I have to do some more tests but I think it's under control.
The trick with material emitters weas reduce the degree of "dispersion" of the light cone from 90º to 5º and therefore reduce the intensity or power because all its power becomes more concentrated.
So it's a very decent result with only 30s of rendering in the viewport. ;)
THANK YOU! :D
Post Reply