Page 1 of 1

Epsilon

Posted: Fri Oct 09, 2020 9:55 am
by Dez!
If you switch from CPU to GPU, then artifacts appear.
I know that such artifacts are corrected with Epsilon values.
But, for some reason, I cannot pick them up this time.
Image
Blend file: https://dropmefiles.com/LScwZ

Re: Epsilon

Posted: Sat Oct 10, 2020 1:13 am
by kintuX
Epsilon
Min: 0.05
Max: 0.5
Result...
epsilon_0.05-0.5.jpg
PS
Also, w/ this file I noticed that whenever I made a larger/broader Epsilon change, CUDA recompiled from scratch.
Didn't do it systematically, but at random... if anyone is willing to check.
Another thing is an error report (using mentioned values):

Code: Select all

[LuxCore][7163.250] [GeForce GTX 1070 CUDAIntersect] Memory used for hardware image pipeline: 14175Kbytes
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Users\309\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.83\scripts\addons\BlendLuxCore\engine\base.py", line 87, in render_final
    final.render(self, depsgraph)
  File "C:\Users\309\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.83\scripts\addons\BlendLuxCore\engine\final.py", line 54, in render
    print('[Engine/Final] Finished rendering layer "%s"' % layer.name)
UnicodeDecodeError: 'utf-8' codec can't decode byte 0xb0 in position 0: invalid start byte
ERROR: 'utf-8' codec can't decode byte 0xb0 in position 0: invalid start byte
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Users\309\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.83\scripts\addons\Stop-motion-OBJ\stop_motion_obj.py", line 95, in renderCancelHandler
    renderStopped()
  File "C:\Users\309\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.83\scripts\addons\Stop-motion-OBJ\stop_motion_obj.py", line 100, in renderStopped
    bpy.data.scenes["Scene"].render.use_lock_interface = storedUseLockInterface
KeyError: 'bpy_prop_collection[key]: key "Scene" not found'
Error: 'utf-8' codec can't decode byte 0xb0 in position 0: invalid start byte

Epsilon Max. 1.0, it doesn't render anymore and returns this error:

Code: Select all

[LuxRays][7581.156] [BVHKernel] CUDA program compilation error:
epsilon_funcs.cl(32): error #18: expected a ")"

epsilon_funcs.cl(32): error #308: more than one instance of overloaded function "clamp" matches the argument list:
            function "clamp(float, float, float)"
            function "clamp(int, int, int)"
            argument types are: (const float, float, int)

bvh.cl(144): warning #191-D: type qualifier is meaningless on cast type

2 errors detected in the compilation of "BVHKernel".

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Users\309\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.83\scripts\addons\BlendLuxCore\engine\base.py", line 87, in render_final
    final.render(self, depsgraph)
  File "C:\Users\309\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.83\scripts\addons\BlendLuxCore\engine\final.py", line 48, in render
    _render_layer(engine, depsgraph, statistics, layer)
  File "C:\Users\309\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.83\scripts\addons\BlendLuxCore\engine\final.py", line 60, in _render_layer
    engine.session = engine.exporter.create_session(depsgraph, engine=engine, view_layer=view_layer)
  File "C:\Users\309\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.83\scripts\addons\BlendLuxCore\export\__init__.py", line 215, in create_session
    pyluxcore.KernelCacheFill(config_props_copy)
RuntimeError: BVHKernel CUDA program compilation error
ERROR: BVHKernel CUDA program compilation error
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Users\309\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.83\scripts\addons\Stop-motion-OBJ\stop_motion_obj.py", line 95, in renderCancelHandler
    renderStopped()
  File "C:\Users\309\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.83\scripts\addons\Stop-motion-OBJ\stop_motion_obj.py", line 100, in renderStopped
    bpy.data.scenes["Scene"].render.use_lock_interface = storedUseLockInterface
KeyError: 'bpy_prop_collection[key]: key "Scene" not found'
Info: Compiling CUDA kernels (just once, takes a few minutes)
Error: BVHKernel CUDA program compilation error

GPU Limit... :?

PS.
@Dez!

I would advise to retopo/remesh your geo to prevent such headaches in the future. Elongated (long edged) polys are known to cause shading issues.

;) Keep up the good work.

---------------------------------
PPS
- Epsilon Max 0.1 works fine (default)
- CUDA recompiles from scratch whenever Epsilon Max. value is changed
- full log attached
console log.zip
(9.8 KiB) Downloaded 190 times

Re: Epsilon

Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2020 6:59 am
by Dez!
Image
these values do not work for me.

This model is from CAD.
I plan to render a lot of such models in Luxcore. You need to figure it out, to reach the truth.

Yes, if you do a retopo, then the rendering goes without errors.

Re: Epsilon

Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2020 2:18 pm
by kintuX
:? ok, I also applied Scale and set Camera Scale to 1...
anyways this renders fine on my end w/ Blender 2.83.7_LTS & 2.90.1 using BlendLuxCore 2.5 (latest)
epsilon.jpg
https://dropmefiles.com/GpKFJ

Re: Epsilon

Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2020 3:55 pm
by Dez!
curious. your scene works for me too.
I will play Sherlock Holmes

Re: Epsilon

Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2020 6:07 pm
by Dez!
;)
KintuX, thank you, you helped.
I found that you moved the camera closer to the subject and used the Clipping options.
This gave me the idea of looking for a problem in the Clipping parameter of the camera.
Image
Having configured it correctly, the problem disappeared.
Image

I would like to draw the attention of the developers.
If you use these scene settings:
Image
then camera Clipping values require tens of thousands of millimeters
Image
It is curious in this moment that the Clipping parameter can be completely disabled for CPU - everything will work flawlessly. But the GPU requires tuning.

Re: Epsilon

Posted: Mon Oct 12, 2020 7:01 pm
by kintuX
Dez! wrote: Mon Oct 12, 2020 6:07 pm ;)
KintuX, thank you, you helped.
I found that you moved the camera closer to the subject and used the Clipping options.
Right 8-) totally forgot about it, cuz almost every scene I tackle I automatically sanitize first.
Anyways, all of the above mentioned issues stand still.
And about Scene settings > Units, set Length to Adaptive
adaptive.jpg
adaptive.jpg (5.2 KiB) Viewed 3577 times
and you'll get better overview
clippings.jpg
clippings.jpg (10.26 KiB) Viewed 3577 times
although, the caveat is it's even easier to miss & forget about FP limits, precision span...