Feature request: Micropolygon Displacement (Micropolis)

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
Post Reply
Odilkhan Yakubov
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 10:07 pm
Location: Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Feature request: Micropolygon Displacement (Micropolis)

Post by Odilkhan Yakubov » Wed Jul 10, 2019 1:53 pm

Hi there. I don't know exact if you know or don't know or this is in TODO list, but anyway I would like to post the paper itself and video promotion too. The stuff founded on the internet.

Here the paper by semanthicscolar:
https://pdfs.semanticscholar.org/b87b/9 ... bc4cdd.pdf

Code on Github:
https://github.com/ginkgo/micropolis

And here the video on Youtube:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=09ozb1ttgmA
Allah bless us!

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Micropolygon Displacement (Micropolis)

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Wed Jul 10, 2019 2:38 pm

This describes a REYES-style rasterizer (very different philosophy compared to LuxCore).
Also, did you have a look at the "limitations" section in the github readme?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Odilkhan Yakubov
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 10:07 pm
Location: Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Re: Feature request: Micropolygon Displacement (Micropolis)

Post by Odilkhan Yakubov » Wed Jul 10, 2019 2:44 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 2:38 pm
This describes a REYES-style rasterizer (very different philosophy compared to LuxCore).
Also, did you have a look at the "limitations" section in the github readme?
Oops, i didnt look up to Limitations section :)
By the way, is it possible to add the code from Cycles render's Micropoly Adaptive Disp?
Allah bless us!

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Micropolygon Displacement (Micropolis)

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:16 pm

Does Cycles have microdisplacement? (no RAM cost)
I thought it only has regular adaptive displacement?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Odilkhan Yakubov
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 10:07 pm
Location: Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Re: Feature request: Micropolygon Displacement (Micropolis)

Post by Odilkhan Yakubov » Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:21 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:16 pm
Does Cycles have microdisplacement? (no RAM cost)
I thought it only has regular adaptive displacement?
I mean this:
https://www.creativeshrimp.com/micropol ... ial-1.html
Allah bless us!

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Feature request: Micropolygon Displacement (Micropolis)

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:59 pm

I have read this:
https://docs.blender.org/manual/es/dev/ ... ement.html
The most accurate and memory intensive displacement method is to apply true displacement to the mesh surface.

It requires the mesh to be finely subdivided, which can be memory intensive. Adaptive Subdivision is the best way to subdivide the mesh, so that exactly the right amount of subdivision is used depending on the distance of the object to the camera.
And this:
https://docs.blender.org/manual/es/dev/ ... bsurf.html

It looks to me like that is regular adaptive subdivision + displacement.
My confusion comes from the fact that in the old LuxRender, we called "microdisplacement" the kind of subdivision+displacement that did not have a memory cost (because it was performed ad-hoc for each ray). However, I am not sure who is using this terminology wrong here (Cycles or Lux). It seems like a rather vague term anyway.

Anyway, displacement was mentioned in the v2.3 wishlist thread. But you can make a post there requesting adaptive subdivision as well: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1080
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Odilkhan Yakubov
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 10:07 pm
Location: Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Re: Feature request: Micropolygon Displacement (Micropolis)

Post by Odilkhan Yakubov » Wed Jul 10, 2019 4:25 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 3:59 pm
I have read this:
https://docs.blender.org/manual/es/dev/ ... ement.html
The most accurate and memory intensive displacement method is to apply true displacement to the mesh surface.

It requires the mesh to be finely subdivided, which can be memory intensive. Adaptive Subdivision is the best way to subdivide the mesh, so that exactly the right amount of subdivision is used depending on the distance of the object to the camera.
And this:
https://docs.blender.org/manual/es/dev/ ... bsurf.html

It looks to me like that is regular adaptive subdivision + displacement.
My confusion comes from the fact that in the old LuxRender, we called "microdisplacement" the kind of subdivision+displacement that did not have a memory cost (because it was performed ad-hoc for each ray). However, I am not sure who is using this terminology wrong here (Cycles or Lux). It seems like a rather vague term anyway.

Anyway, displacement was mentioned in the v2.3 wishlist thread. But you can make a post there requesting adaptive subdivision as well: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1080
Anyway, i don't know how is named exact, but it is really useful feature for the engine.
Allah bless us!

Odilkhan Yakubov
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 10:07 pm
Location: Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Re: Feature request: Micropolygon Displacement (Micropolis)

Post by Odilkhan Yakubov » Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:11 am

As I tested that Microdusplacement aka Adaptive Subdovision in Cycles it has memory consumption. Exactly, it tesselation every subdivided object. I dont understand why it does do that moreover if i just subdived object manually with using Subdivision modifier?
Is it possible using like if i use 2048mb of RAM when use just subdiv not adaptive and when i use adaptive it takes just half of that memory? Is it possible? Cuz if no so that adaptive feature just for HiEnd pcs :roll:
Allah bless us!

Post Reply