Light group support for PhotonGI?

Discussion related to the LuxCore functionality, implementations and API.
juangea
Donor
Donor
Posts: 332
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2020 6:23 pm

Re: Light group support for PhotonGI?

Post by juangea »

I was referring to the clamping value in general, having a clamping value per light group it's even better :)
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1/2.2 features poll

Post by Dade »

B.Y.O.B. wrote: Tue Mar 31, 2020 2:21 pm In the hall bench scene, the VRAM usage is:
- without cache: 1029 MiB
- with cache: 1031 MiB
Are you sure ? I mean, if I can ignore the "additional memory problem" I can easily add the support for light groups (storing 8 x 3 floats values instead of 3 float, max. light group count x RGB instead of 1 x RGB).

The question is: the memory usage will jump from 2MB to 16MB (and no one care) or it will jump from 100MB to 800MB and people will start to load their guns :?:
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3101
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: Light group support for PhotonGI?

Post by Sharlybg »

The question is: the memory usage will jump from 2MB to 16MB (and no one care) or it will jump from 100MB to 800MB and people will start to load their guns
We just need a warning Message on it. Being a special features it is acceptable to have such sacrifice to do. multiple render in one this is awesome.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Light group support for PhotonGI?

Post by Dade »

Sharlybg wrote: Fri Apr 03, 2020 1:24 pm
The question is: the memory usage will jump from 2MB to 16MB (and no one care) or it will jump from 100MB to 800MB and people will start to load their guns
We just need a warning Message on it. Being a special features it is acceptable to have such sacrifice to do. multiple render in one this is awesome.
No, it is not optional, even if you use a single light group, it will use 16MB instead of 2MB (i.e. no problem) and 800MB instead of 100MB (i.e. big problem).
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3101
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: Light group support for PhotonGI?

Post by Sharlybg »

No, it is not optional, even if you use a single light group, it will use 16MB instead of 2MB (i.e. no problem) and 800MB instead of 100MB (i.e. big problem).
understood (This is Crazy :o :o :o :o :o ) :lol:

So maybe boosted Path/Bidir will make the trick Image
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Light group support for PhotonGI?

Post by B.Y.O.B. »

Dade wrote: Fri Apr 03, 2020 1:13 pm
B.Y.O.B. wrote: Tue Mar 31, 2020 2:21 pm In the hall bench scene, the VRAM usage is:
- without cache: 1029 MiB
- with cache: 1031 MiB
Are you sure ? I mean, if I can ignore the "additional memory problem" I can easily add the support for light groups (storing 8 x 3 floats values instead of 3 float, max. light group count x RGB instead of 1 x RGB).

The question is: the memory usage will jump from 2MB to 16MB (and no one care) or it will jump from 100MB to 800MB and people will start to load their guns :?:
Some tests, VRAM usage of PhotonGI indirect light cache (no caustics cache), as reported by LuxCore:

Danish Mood:
- without cache: 577 MiB
- with cache: 580 MiB
Diff 3 MiB

LuxCore 2.1 Benchmark:
- without cache: 479 MiB
- with cache: 486 MiB
Diff: 7 MiB

LuxBall scene from https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/LuxCor ... s/tag/v2.3:
- without cache: 269 MiB
- with cache: 296 MiB
Diff: 27 MiB

DLSC testscene:
- without cache: 374 MiB
- with cache: 376 MiB
Diff: 2 MiB

If these numbers look fishy to you, maybe LuxCore is not counting all VRAM usage of PhotonGI? However, the VRAM usage I see in the task manager looking mostly the same)
Dade wrote: Fri Apr 03, 2020 1:28 pm No, it is not optional, even if you use a single light group, it will use 16MB instead of 2MB (i.e. no problem) and 800MB instead of 100MB (i.e. big problem).
The memory can't be allocated only on demand?
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Light group support for PhotonGI?

Post by Dade »

B.Y.O.B. wrote: Fri Apr 03, 2020 2:40 pm If these numbers look fishy to you, maybe LuxCore is not counting all VRAM usage of PhotonGI?
No, if you are reading the numbers from the log, they are correct as far as I know.
Dade wrote: Fri Apr 03, 2020 1:28 pm The memory can't be allocated only on demand?
It is but is more complex (mostly in OpenCL).
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Light group support for PhotonGI?

Post by Dade »

I added the support for light groups to PhotonGI (both indirect and caustic cache) :geek:
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3101
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: Light group support for PhotonGI?

Post by Sharlybg »

Dade wrote: Sat Apr 04, 2020 11:41 am I added the support for light groups to PhotonGI (both indirect and caustic cache) :geek:
That was fast. We still need blendluxcore add to test i guess.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Light group support for PhotonGI?

Post by Dade »

Sharlybg wrote: Sat Apr 04, 2020 12:34 pm
Dade wrote: Sat Apr 04, 2020 11:41 am I added the support for light groups to PhotonGI (both indirect and caustic cache) :geek:
That was fast. We still need blendluxcore add to test i guess.
Nope, it should work out of the box.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
Post Reply