BlendLuxCore Development

Discussion related to the Engine functionality, implementations and API.
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3144
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by Dade » Sun Apr 28, 2019 9:02 am

epilectrolytics wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:33 am
Dade wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:00 am
The scene is working fine here. Have you tried to do a fresh PC reboot and just run LuxCoreUI ? Without Blender.

Are you rendering the same scene with multiple applications at the same time ? Like Blender preview and rendering or LuxCoreUI ?
Normally when running LuxCoreUI I have the file explorer open and the .cfg file in notepad so I can make adjustments but I just tested again after reboot with nothing running except LuxCoreUI and still the error pops up.
Does it happen only if the .pgi file already exist ? I mean, it can not happen if the file doesn't exist ... or it still does ?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2962
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Sun Apr 28, 2019 9:06 am

Dade wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:00 am
The scene is working fine here.
Did you test on Windows or Linux?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3144
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by Dade » Sun Apr 28, 2019 10:10 am

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 9:06 am
Dade wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:00 am
The scene is working fine here.
Did you test on Windows or Linux?
Linux, it looks like a Windows-only problem.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
epilectrolytics
Donor
Donor
Posts: 561
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:06 am

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by epilectrolytics » Sun Apr 28, 2019 10:36 am

Dade wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 9:02 am
Does it happen only if the .pgi file already exist ? I mean, it can not happen if the file doesn't exist ... or it still does ?
So I was going to delete the .pgi file from the folder and found that there are three of them, with different names like a long string of hex numbers.
Apparently every time I try to render the scene a new cache file gets created.
I deleted all of them and opened the .cfg file with LuxCoreUI which led to the same error as always and a new .pgi file being created within the scene folder.
MBPro 15" 16GB i7-4850HQ GT750M, MacOS 10.13.6 & Win10Pro PC 16GB Ryzen 2700X, 2 x RTX 2070

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3144
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by Dade » Sun Apr 28, 2019 11:39 am

epilectrolytics wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 10:36 am
Dade wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 9:02 am
Does it happen only if the .pgi file already exist ? I mean, it can not happen if the file doesn't exist ... or it still does ?
So I was going to delete the .pgi file from the folder and found that there are three of them, with different names like a long string of hex numbers.
Apparently every time I try to render the scene a new cache file gets created.
I deleted all of them and opened the .cfg file with LuxCoreUI which led to the same error as always and a new .pgi file being created within the scene folder.
It is the behavior of the "SafeSave" (https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/LuxCor ... fesave.cpp): it creates a temporary file, rename if exists the old file by adding a .old at the end and rename the temporary file to the final name. The last operation fails, apparently because the temporary file is still open.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 3144
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by Dade » Sun Apr 28, 2019 3:48 pm

I should have fixed the problem, I can not verify if the fix works but it makes sense.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
epilectrolytics
Donor
Donor
Posts: 561
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:06 am

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by epilectrolytics » Sun Apr 28, 2019 7:16 pm

Dade wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 3:48 pm
I should have fixed the problem, I can not verify if the fix works but it makes sense.
It works (tested from Blender), thanks so much!
Really awesome at what speed you fix things that you even can't test!
MBPro 15" 16GB i7-4850HQ GT750M, MacOS 10.13.6 & Win10Pro PC 16GB Ryzen 2700X, 2 x RTX 2070

User avatar
epilectrolytics
Donor
Donor
Posts: 561
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:06 am

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by epilectrolytics » Mon Apr 29, 2019 5:24 am

Works like a charm! :D
(Except for DOF focus object :? )
Path OCL PGI (RTX 2070 + GTX 1060) 1500 samples, no OIDN, 250 x 90s /frame, 1200x720p30, default PGI settings:
coronapgi.mp4.zip
(1 MiB) Downloaded 34 times
MBPro 15" 16GB i7-4850HQ GT750M, MacOS 10.13.6 & Win10Pro PC 16GB Ryzen 2700X, 2 x RTX 2070

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2962
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Mon Apr 29, 2019 8:49 am

epilectrolytics wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 5:24 am
(Except for DOF focus object )
Does that also happen with Cycles, or just with BlendLuxcore? If the latter, can you send me the scene so I can check what's going on?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
epilectrolytics
Donor
Donor
Posts: 561
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:06 am

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by epilectrolytics » Mon Apr 29, 2019 9:31 am

Happens also with Cycles, the focus won't be on the object specified.
I had to use autofocus and that causes a jump when the glass moves out of the frame center during the back zoom.
Screen Shot.png
MBPro 15" 16GB i7-4850HQ GT750M, MacOS 10.13.6 & Win10Pro PC 16GB Ryzen 2700X, 2 x RTX 2070

Post Reply