LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha0 released

News & Announcements regarding releases, features, exporters and project coordination.
FiatLux
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2018 8:41 pm

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha0 released

Post by FiatLux » Sat May 12, 2018 6:06 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 5:54 pm
If you have any ideas how to handle this situation, I'm open for suggestions.
Can't denoising be stopped too by user? For example by pressing again the ESC key.
I mean to handle the kind of situation where you want to stop and trash without waiting useless denoising seconds/minutes.

Edit:
I was playin with parameters and I got strange results with scale:
Simple scene with cube over a plane both simply white 0.7 matte material. Nothing fancy, everything stock.
Scale = from 4 to 8 got this strange thing, it's not always the same but it's what I get. Black background with R, G, B squares on the bottom.
denoiseScale5.jpg
At Scale 9 and 10 blender crashes.
Haven't tried to go far.
Last edited by FiatLux on Sat May 12, 2018 6:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Racleborg
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:31 am
Location: UK

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha0 released

Post by Racleborg » Sat May 12, 2018 6:21 pm

I agree with Fiatlux about adding a separate switch to the Denoiser. Would that be possible?

Thanks

User avatar
Racleborg
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:31 am
Location: UK

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha0 released

Post by Racleborg » Sat May 12, 2018 7:40 pm

.... or I just need to remember to switch OFF the denoiser, before cancelling the render!

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1312
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha0 released

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Sat May 12, 2018 8:13 pm

FiatLux wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 6:06 pm
Can't denoising be stopped too by user? For example by pressing again the ESC key.
We are constrained by the Blender API here. As far as I know this is not possible.
Blender just tells us once that the render was cancelled, but it does not tell us every key event.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

kintuX
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:37 am

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha0 released

Post by kintuX » Sat May 12, 2018 9:05 pm

FiatLux wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 6:06 pm
... squares on the bottom.
UHB_LuxCore-bug-dnScales6.jpg
BiDir, Scales: 6

Can anything be done to use less time? Because even, if it's set to lower vales it computes as long or even longer. :?

User avatar
Racleborg
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:31 am
Location: UK

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha0 released

Post by Racleborg » Sat May 12, 2018 10:07 pm

I'm sure you developers will tweak away and add improvements to the Denoiser feature, but even as it stands right now I think it's absolutely terrific!

Thank you very much. :D

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1312
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha0 released

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Sat May 12, 2018 10:09 pm

Can you post such a scene with artifacts?
Does it also happen with the default scales value (3)?
Does it happen with Path, too?
kintuX wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 9:05 pm
Can anything be done to use less time? Because even, if it's set to lower vales it computes as long or even longer
You should not spam it. Only run it once every 200 samples or so to see if the denoised image is sufficient now.
The render is paused while the denoiser runs, because it uses 100% of the CPU, so if you run it too often you waste CPU time.
I'm sure you developers will tweak away and add improvements to the Denoiser feature
Of course, it's an alpha release after all, it is unfinished. :)
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

kintuX
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:37 am

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha0 released

Post by kintuX » Sat May 12, 2018 11:39 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 10:09 pm
Can you post such a scene with artifacts?
Does it also happen with the default scales value (3)?
Does it happen with Path, too?
Artifacts appear also with Scales: 3 & yes, with every engine. Suspecting Camera Clipping or bright pixels... or both... or none...
burnedBug_8cpuPT.jpg
burnedBug_8gpu-oclPT.jpg
burnedBug_6gpu-oclP.jpg
burnedBug.zip
(119.38 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 10:09 pm
kintuX wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 9:05 pm
Can anything be done to use less time? Because even, if it's set to lower vales it computes as long or even longer
You should not spam it. Only run it once every 200 samples or so to see if the denoised image is sufficient now.
The render is paused while the denoiser runs, because it uses 100% of the CPU, so if you run it too often you waste CPU time.
I'm sure you developers will tweak away and add improvements to the Denoiser feature
Of course, it's an alpha release after all, it is unfinished. :)
Aiii :D Eats RAM like starved.
Also reduces light depending on the amount of samples used. Most often below 64.
specs. 2250x2000pix ~ 6 GB RAM: a cube in a cube, sun&sky, no clamping, tiled PT CPU, GPU crashes of course (scene above)

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 5:54 pm
Racleborg wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 5:27 pm
The denoising works great, but when I try to cancel a render the Denoiser starts up and I can't seem to stop it?
This is intended. When additional samples were rendered since the last run of the denoiser, it is executed again when ending the render.
Since LuxCore is mostly used in "endless render mode", the addon can't really tell if you want to abort a render as quickly as possible or if you simply think the render is finished.
If you have any ideas how to handle this situation, I'm open for suggestions.
instead of ESC, I force-stop it by setting Halt sampling to lower value than it is at the moment :twisted:

Otherwise, when properly set to work, gives great results! :mrgreen: Thanks
ps. Only on stills for now.

pps. got artifacts with Scales: 3
sugarcube_LuxCore201artifact.jpg

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1312
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha0 released

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Sun May 13, 2018 8:01 am

kintuX wrote:
Sat May 12, 2018 11:39 pm
instead of ESC, I force-stop it by setting Halt sampling to lower value than it is at the moment
And this prevents the denoiser from running when the render is stopped? That would be a bug.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 1183
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.1alpha0 released

Post by Dade » Sun May 13, 2018 9:01 am

About the scale parameter. It downscale multiple times the (covariance) image to remove low frequency noise. This means, for instance, with a 256x256 image, it will create:

- scale = 1 => 256x256 image
- scale = 2 => 256x256, 128x128 images
- scale = 3 => 256x256, 128x128, 64x64 images
- scale = 4 => 256x256, 128x128, 64x64, 32x32 images
- scale = 5 => 256x256, 128x128, 64x64, 32x32, 16x16 images
- scale = 6 => 256x256, 128x128, 64x64, 32x32, 16x16, 8x8 images
- etc.

Clearly there is an lower limit (i.e. you can not downscale more than 1x1) and it is also useless to downscale too much. There are no safety checks, at the moment, on parameters so you can freely pick not valid values.

Short version:

- you may decrease the value to have shorter denoise times.

- you may have to increase the value from 3 if you are rendering at very high resolutions, like 4K.

But 99% of the times, the default value 3 will be fine.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Post Reply