LuxCoreRender v2.3beta2 released

News & Announcements regarding releases, features, exporters and project coordination.
BigGoga
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 9:28 am
Location: BY

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.3beta2 released

Post by BigGoga » Fri Feb 21, 2020 5:49 am

This is strange!
Blender and Cycles load both processors.
3dmax vray and the corona load two processors
Keyshot works the same.

Only with Blendluxcore only one processor works

Why does this happen only with blendluxcore?

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 4723
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.3beta2 released

Post by Dade » Fri Feb 21, 2020 9:43 am

BigGoga wrote:
Fri Feb 21, 2020 5:49 am
This is strange!
Blender and Cycles load both processors.
3dmax vray and the corona load two processors
Keyshot works the same.

Only with Blendluxcore only one processor works

Why does this happen only with blendluxcore?
I guess they have explicit support for Windows processor groups (https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/window ... sor-groups):
Applications for which performance is critical and that can scale efficiently beyond 64 logical processors must be modified to run on such systems. For example, database applications might benefit from modifications.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

BigGoga
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 9:28 am
Location: BY

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.3beta2 released

Post by BigGoga » Fri Feb 21, 2020 12:53 pm

It turns out that BlendLuxCore is not yet fully optimized for working on systems with a CPU more than 64?

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 4723
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.3beta2 released

Post by Dade » Fri Feb 21, 2020 1:22 pm

BigGoga wrote:
Fri Feb 21, 2020 12:53 pm
It turns out that BlendLuxCore is not yet fully optimized for working on systems with a CPU more than 64?
Read the linked article, it is a limit of some Windows version.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

BigGoga
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 9:28 am
Location: BY

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.3beta2 released

Post by BigGoga » Fri Feb 21, 2020 2:13 pm

Dade wrote:
Fri Feb 21, 2020 1:22 pm
Read the linked article, it is a limit of some Windows version.
I read the article.
Why are these restrictions only applied when working with BlendLuxCore?
And do not work in other programs?

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 4723
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.3beta2 released

Post by Dade » Fri Feb 21, 2020 2:29 pm

BigGoga wrote:
Fri Feb 21, 2020 2:13 pm
Dade wrote:
Fri Feb 21, 2020 1:22 pm
Read the linked article, it is a limit of some Windows version.
I read the article.
Why are these restrictions only applied when working with BlendLuxCore?
And do not work in other programs?
It is explained here: viewtopic.php?p=20208#p20184
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
rrubberr
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 5:21 am
Location: California

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.3beta2 released

Post by rrubberr » Sat Feb 29, 2020 5:45 pm

You can actually tell this is the case. If you try to run LuxCoreRender on Windows Vista it runs just fine, with no problems. If you try to launch Luxrender 1.6 on Windows Vista it shows a "getactive processorcount kernel32.dll" error. The newer feature is supported in Windows Server 2008 and later, but is not part of LuxCoreRender yet.
HP Z620: 2x E5-2695v2, 192GB RAM, Quadro M6000 24GB

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 3801
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.3beta2 released

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Wed Mar 04, 2020 1:03 pm

Harvester wrote:
Mon Feb 17, 2020 5:00 pm
I've just downloaded the Latest Build (by Dade [97a03c8]) and the updated update.py file is there but the behavior in the Preferences is still the same: no builds listed in the Release for Change Version, as you can see below:
@Racleborg as well:
For some reason I can now reproduce this problem with v2.3beta2.
However, in v2.3rc1 the updater seems to work fine again, can you confirm this?

Harvester
Donor
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 8:06 pm

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.3beta2 released

Post by Harvester » Wed Mar 04, 2020 1:23 pm

Hi, I confirm you that v2.3rc1 works perfectly in Blender 2.82 and 2.83 (alpha) as well as the option to change version. I noticed that with this release of BlenderLuxCore add-on only 2.3 versions are listed, the previous versions are no longer available. I presume this is by design. it's fine for me also because I can always recover previous versions of LuxCoreRender if I need them with old versions of Blender. Cheers!

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 3801
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.3beta2 released

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Wed Mar 04, 2020 1:25 pm

Harvester wrote:
Wed Mar 04, 2020 1:23 pm
I noticed that with this release of BlenderLuxCore add-on only 2.3 versions are listed, the previous versions are no longer available. I presume this is by design.
Yes, it's by design, because versions before v2.2 don't support Blender 2.80, and v2.2 uses a different naming scheme for the download files so rather than making the code more complicated, I left it out.

Post Reply