BlendLuxCore Development

Discussion related to the LuxCore functionality, implementations and API.
Post Reply
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. »

Thread for talking about BlendLuxCore development.

Open issues: https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/BlendLuxCore/issues

Currently I discovered this bug and am waiting for confirmation.
Have to wait for a fix before I can continue the work on the material node editor.
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. »

basic material nodes
Attachments
scrn_2017-12-09_21-09-17.png
neo2068
Developer
Developer
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 6:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by neo2068 »

Hi B.Y.O.B.!
I tried to install the new WIP exporter on windows and Blender 2.79 but when I try to activate it, I get an error.

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Program Files\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.79\scripts\modules\addon_utils.py", line 331, in enable
    mod = __import__(module_name)
  File "F:\Users\Michael\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.79\scripts\addons\LuxCoreRenderEngine\__init__.py", line 8, in <module>
    from . import engine, nodes, operators, properties, ui
  File "F:\Users\Michael\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.79\scripts\addons\LuxCoreRenderEngine\engine\__init__.py", line 3, in <module>
    from ..bin import pyluxcore
ImportError: DLL load failed: Die angegebene Prozedur wurde nicht gefunden.
I copied the needed DLLs into the bin directory of the addon.

However, when I restart blender and register it manually it works and I can use the engine (same code fails, if I execute it in the same Blender session after failed activation in user preferences).

Code: Select all

import os
os.chdir('F:\\Users\\Michael\\AppData\\Roaming\\Blender Foundation\\Blender\\2.79\\scripts\\addons\\LuxCoreRenderEngine')
import LuxCoreRenderEngine
LuxCoreRenderEngine.register()
Do you have clue, why the activation and registering fails? Is it an other code path?
i7 5820K, 32 GB RAM, NVIDIA Geforce RTX 2080 SUPER + GTX 1080, Windows 10 64bit, Blender 2.83.5
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. »

I started to write this addon on Windows, everything worked back then.
Since the re-boot I only worked on it on Linux.
A few days ago I tried it on Windows and ran into errors just like you did, but I did not have the patience to fix it yet.
neo2068 wrote: Sun Dec 10, 2017 9:56 pm However, when I restart blender and register it manually it works and I can use the engine (same code fails, if I execute it in the same Blender session after failed activation in user preferences).
Interesting...
At least this means that all the needed DLLs are there, so we can rule out missing DLLs.

I thought it might be a Python version mismatch (latest Blender uses 3.6), we should check again which Python version LuxCore uses and what Blender 2.79 uses.
edit: What I found so far:
  • Official Blender 2.79 uses Python 3.5.3
  • The version in WindowsCompileDeps is 3.5.1: https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/Window ... evel.h#L26
  • My LuxCore build on Linux seems to use Python 3.4, but I have no idea how to change that (and it's working)
  • Latest Blender master uses Python 3.6, but on Linux my pyluxcore built with 3.4 works there, too.
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. »

Fixed two critical bugs: https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/BlendL ... projects/1 (see DONE section)
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3101
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by Sharlybg »

Does this mean that we can we can work with material without lose them when we import assets in new/other projects ? :D
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. »

In theory, yes, that's how the new Datablock ID properties work.
In practice, there's a bug that needs to get fixed first: https://developer.blender.org/T53509

by the way, at future BlendLuxCore developers: I created an overview of the project structure: https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/BlendL ... ructure.md
I hope it helps to quickly understand how the addon works.
If you have any questions or if you think something's not optimal, contact me.
You have a fresh new look on the code, while I am blind because I'm used to it.
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. »

Hi, I found a great article about automated testing using Travis CI for Blender addons: https://anzui.de/en/blog/2015-05-21/
I'd like to try that with BlendLuxCore. Travis CI needs permissions to access the LuxCoreRender organization's repositories.
I sent a request, it should come by mail.

I just see that you already approved it, thanks.
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by Dade »

I have authorize the Travis CI access.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. »

Implemented the basic structure for light export, still much to do.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=edd1YLG ... yucvtzBkN7
Post Reply