PhotonGI cache

Discussion related to the Engine functionality, implementations and API.
User avatar
epilectrolytics
Donor
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:06 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by epilectrolytics » Thu Jun 20, 2019 1:43 pm

lacilaci wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 9:34 am
Anyone had success with the caustic cache and something like pool water? Mine looks like trash.
Water material needs volume.
pool.jpg
pooltest.blend.zip
(91.04 KiB) Downloaded 47 times
MBPro 15" 16GB i7-4850HQ GT750M, MacOS 10.13.6 & Win10Pro PC 16GB Ryzen 2700X, 2 x RTX 2070

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Posts: 1642
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by lacilaci » Thu Jun 20, 2019 1:59 pm

epilectrolytics wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 1:43 pm
lacilaci wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 9:34 am
Anyone had success with the caustic cache and something like pool water? Mine looks like trash.
Water material needs volume.
pool.jpg
pooltest.blend.zip
wow, it works :D

but I'm getting really low samples/sec

User avatar
epilectrolytics
Donor
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:06 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by epilectrolytics » Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:14 pm

lacilaci wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 1:59 pm
but I'm getting really low samples/sec
Then you probably need to simplify the cache settings: lower size, lower lookup maxcount.
Also I have indirect cache off, should work with on too.
Currently during the cache update no path tracing happens, so cache building time is the bottleneck.
MBPro 15" 16GB i7-4850HQ GT750M, MacOS 10.13.6 & Win10Pro PC 16GB Ryzen 2700X, 2 x RTX 2070

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Posts: 1642
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by lacilaci » Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:31 pm

epilectrolytics wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:14 pm
lacilaci wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 1:59 pm
but I'm getting really low samples/sec
Then you probably need to simplify the cache settings: lower size, lower lookup maxcount.
Also I have indirect cache off, should work with on too.
Currently during the cache update no path tracing happens, so cache building time is the bottleneck.
Yeah I'm gonna have to experiment a bit.

kintuX
Posts: 477
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:37 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by kintuX » Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:49 pm

Some more findings about Caustic cache... :?

1. With Volumes there's huge regression, especially in cases like "water in a glass".
"Samples/Sec drop from 6.5M to 84K." #bugs @ LuxCoreRender discord

2. Using low Lookup Radius value in combination with low Radius Scale "dark edges" occur. At first behind specular surfaces (alike epilectrolytics case) and also on diffuse with extra darkening when Normal Angle is set to 0°.

3. With Periodic Update on, every third (3rd) rendering freezes Blender when hitting Halt - need to force quit. No error in console, just constant loop through Refresh Film. With it off, renders continue working fine.

User avatar
epilectrolytics
Donor
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:06 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by epilectrolytics » Thu Jun 20, 2019 7:49 pm

kintuX wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 2:01 pm
Caustic's cache reveals the edges.
Issue arises from Normal Angle size (OCL & CPU).
The lower the angle size, the greater the anomaly.
Yes, me too :D
Looks like photon cast does not recognise smoothing.
caustic.png
.
Because of periodic not yet working with persistent cache I tried to animate the file without indirect, only with periodic caustic cache.
The first frame finished after 6.5min and 400 samples, but the second continued to render after reaching the sample limit, samples locked but apparently continuously updating. I had to force quit because escape wouldn't stop the loop.
MBPro 15" 16GB i7-4850HQ GT750M, MacOS 10.13.6 & Win10Pro PC 16GB Ryzen 2700X, 2 x RTX 2070

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 3381
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Dade » Fri Jun 21, 2019 9:40 am

epilectrolytics wrote:
Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:26 pm
First I'm moving the camera to the last frame #100 to write the persistent cache.
Then I disable "compute and overwrite" so that in the next render the existing cache is reused.
When I hit the animation button in Blender, rendering starts and an image appears, but after few seconds it crashes.
I should have fixed this problem.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
epilectrolytics
Donor
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:06 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by epilectrolytics » Fri Jun 21, 2019 12:43 pm

Dade wrote:
Fri Jun 21, 2019 9:40 am
I should have fixed this problem.
Great!
I see the build has succeeded but somehow the "latest" category from Github has disappeared and the release has not been deployed :?:
MBPro 15" 16GB i7-4850HQ GT750M, MacOS 10.13.6 & Win10Pro PC 16GB Ryzen 2700X, 2 x RTX 2070

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 3381
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Dade » Fri Jun 21, 2019 12:52 pm

epilectrolytics wrote:
Fri Jun 21, 2019 12:43 pm
Dade wrote:
Fri Jun 21, 2019 9:40 am
I should have fixed this problem.
Great!
I see the build has succeeded but somehow the "latest" category from Github has disappeared and the release has not been deployed :?:
I scheduled another build, Azure isn't very reliable in the latest days.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
epilectrolytics
Donor
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:06 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by epilectrolytics » Fri Jun 21, 2019 12:54 pm

Thanks for your effort!

(No idea what the grey bar in my last post is about :? )
MBPro 15" 16GB i7-4850HQ GT750M, MacOS 10.13.6 & Win10Pro PC 16GB Ryzen 2700X, 2 x RTX 2070

Post Reply