Page 46 of 109

Re: PhotonGI cache

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:59 am
by mwitalinski
frank_yifei wrote: Wed Feb 20, 2019 2:27 am For a test scene, I tried to make the caustic result look smoother so I increase lookup radius. I found a problem.
using opencl + photonGI, setting caustic lookup radius higher will crash blender. The error message is "ERROR: clEnqueueWriteBuffer
Error: Unrecognized Exception". Path cpu works well with caustic, i can set lookup radius to any value, like 100.
Indirect cache can have lookup radius at any value, under opencl or cpu
My computer have 4 core intel cpu, nvidia 1060 6gb.
Hey, I have the same problem with latest benchmark scene for Luxcorender 2.1. While using cpu only it's working, on opencl it crashes Blender in the same way. I'm using GTX Titan Black.

Re: PhotonGI cache

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:05 am
by B.Y.O.B.
I have a scene where the caustic cache shows a brightness difference compared to Bidir+Metropolis.
Light source is a meshlight.

Re: PhotonGI cache

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:40 am
by provisory
I have instant crash when I try to render any scene with caustic cache (path CPU).
I have 8 GB RAM. Maybe it's low RAM related?

Re: PhotonGI cache

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:46 am
by Dade
B.Y.O.B. wrote: Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:05 am I have a scene where the caustic cache shows a brightness difference compared to Bidir+Metropolis.
Light source is a meshlight.
I should have fixed this problem.

Re: PhotonGI cache

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:53 am
by Dade
provisory wrote: Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:40 am I have instant crash when I try to render any scene with caustic cache (path CPU).
I have 8 GB RAM. Maybe it's low RAM related?
Does it happen with any scene ? For instance, including the one posted above by B.Y.O.B. ?

Re: PhotonGI cache

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:04 am
by Dade
frank_yifei wrote: Wed Feb 20, 2019 2:27 am For a test scene, I tried to make the caustic result look smoother so I increase lookup radius. I found a problem.
using opencl + photonGI, setting caustic lookup radius higher will crash blender. The error message is "ERROR: clEnqueueWriteBuffer
Error: Unrecognized Exception". Path cpu works well with caustic, i can set lookup radius to any value, like 100.
Indirect cache can have lookup radius at any value, under opencl or cpu
My computer have 4 core intel cpu, nvidia 1060 6gb.
Your test scene is working fine here on my Linux+GTX980. Making the radius larger, it will make also the rendering slower. May be, it becomes too slow and the driver kick in and kill the GPU kernel execution.

Given a radius causing the crash, can you try to cut in half (even multiple times) the caustic cache size ? Reducing the size will increase the rendering time again, so if my theory is correct, it should stop crashing at some point.

I'm working on this "larger radius => slower rendering" problem.

Re: PhotonGI cache

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:06 am
by Dade
mwitalinski wrote: Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:59 am Hey, I have the same problem with latest benchmark scene for Luxcorender 2.1. While using cpu only it's working, on opencl it crashes Blender in the same way. I'm using GTX Titan Black.
I had a similar problem with LuxCoreRender v2.1 benchmark scene with an older NVIDIA driver. Have you tried to update the drivers ?

Re: PhotonGI cache

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:24 am
by provisory
Dade wrote: Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:53 am
provisory wrote: Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:40 am I have instant crash when I try to render any scene...
Does it happen with any scene ? For instance, including the one posted above by B.Y.O.B. ?
It didn't crash with B.Y.O.B.'s scene!
However it always crashed before, even with a default cube and sun. So, I assume, it's something with my settings.

Re: PhotonGI cache

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:39 am
by Dade
provisory wrote: Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:24 am So, I assume, it's something with my settings.
Can you post a test scene causing the crash ?

Re: PhotonGI cache

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 10:48 am
by Racleborg
Under what sort of circumstances should I turn OFF the 'USE PHOTON GI CACHE', in the Material Output node?

Thanks