Page 6 of 7

Re: Denoiser Integration

Posted: Fri May 11, 2018 2:58 am
by Dez!
In anticipation of noise reduction I stopped all 3D projects. I switched to web design. In my scenes there is a lot of work for noise reduction

Re: Denoiser Integration

Posted: Tue May 15, 2018 8:32 pm
by B.Y.O.B.
The firefly removal of the denoiser can work pretty well, but only until too many samples have picked up the same "firefly" (which is technically no longer a firefly in this case, just an unconverged caustic).
edit: However, it seems to kill the glossy reflections. Strange.

Re: Denoiser Integration

Posted: Thu May 31, 2018 9:47 am
by Dez!
Can a denoiser handle the channels of light groups?

Re: Denoiser Integration

Posted: Thu May 31, 2018 10:25 am
by B.Y.O.B.
Yes, but it would need to be run on each lightgroup imagepipeline separately, so it would take a lot more time than if we only denoise the "main imagepipeline".

Re: Denoiser Integration

Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 12:01 pm
by Dez!
OK. This is really needed option. Without it, the compositing is not possible.
I propose to make such a check

Image

I'm starting a series of 200 renders of LED strips. With noise reduction of all channels, I need to perform 50 renderings, and a bit of compositing. Without noise reduction of all channels, I need to perform all 200 renderings.

Re: Denoiser Integration

Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 2:28 pm
by B.Y.O.B.

Re: Denoiser Integration

Posted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 7:11 pm
by andreymd87
Dade wrote:
Thu May 10, 2018 9:17 am
Did I ever said how damn well this thing works ? :lol:

scr.jpg

A 10 mins rendering, it makes animations possible.
wow!! what are your denoiser settings?

Re: Denoiser Integration

Posted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 9:31 pm
by Dade
andreymd87 wrote:
Mon Jun 04, 2018 7:11 pm
wow!! what are your denoiser settings?
Just the default settings.

Re: Denoiser Integration

Posted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 10:57 pm
by andreymd87
strange. i used same default settings but here are some artifacts :(
untitled.png

Re: Denoiser Integration

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 9:55 am
by Dade
andreymd87 wrote:
Mon Jun 04, 2018 10:57 pm
strange. i used same default settings but here are some artifacts :( untitled.png
Try to increase the "Histogram distance threshold" parameter, the result should be smoother.