Using LuxCoreRender for Radio Frequencies

Discussion related to the LuxCore functionality, implementations and API.
mattia

Using LuxCoreRender for Radio Frequencies

Post by mattia »

I'm a researcher interested into radio channel modeling and I'm currently working with a custom-built ray-tracer for such purpose. I would like, though, to have better performance, e.g., using GPU accelerated ray-tracing, which is not trivial to program from scratch.

I was wondering whether I could do this with pre-existing open source (optical) ray-tracing software such as Blender+LuxCoreRender. For this to work, I would need to:
  1. Define transmitters (TXs) and receivers (RXs) nodes. I guess TXs are equivalent to light sources and RXs to cameras, but I would need 360° cameras. Also, TXs and RXs should be points with no size
  2. Obtain output files containing information about every single received ray, such as traveled distance/delay, received power, angles of departure and arrival
  3. Possibly, access to the render engine programmatically based on a pre-built Blender CAD scene
  4. Ideally, create an interface (an add-on?) specifically for RF ray-tracing and make it available to the community which allows the complete workflow to stay on Blender, i.e., (i) scene creation, (ii) material settings, (iii) RX/TX positioning (possibly moving), (iv) ray-tracing computation, (v) ray visualization.
I don't think optical renderers (even physics based) consider diffraction, but I can ignore that for the moment.
I have no idea whether this is even possible, I'm asking the LuxCore community for a feedback on whether these few points could be more or less easily obtained and, if so, give me some references from manuals/APIs which I could further study.

Your opinion will be greatly appreciated.
Dade
Developer
Developer

Re: Using LuxCoreRender for Radio Frequencies

Post by Dade »

It may be a bit stretched but anyway: