Windows Build FAILED

Discussion related to the LuxCore functionality, implementations and API.
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 4817
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Windows Build FAILED

Post by Dade » Sun Apr 26, 2020 12:03 am

kintuX wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:31 pm
PS
Also note: OCL too, takes foooreeveeer to compile now :shock: :P
But now you need to compile only once than is always cached (both for OpenCL and CUDA).
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

epilectrolytics
Donor
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:06 am

Re: Windows Build FAILED

Post by epilectrolytics » Sun Apr 26, 2020 7:58 am

Still I cannot select devices in LuxCoreUI, same error as in BlendLuxCore:
Screenshot-(221).gif

kintuX
Posts: 594
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:37 am

Re: Windows Build FAILED

Post by kintuX » Sun Apr 26, 2020 9:33 am

Dade wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 12:03 am
kintuX wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:31 pm
PS
Also note: OCL too, takes foooreeveeer to compile now :shock: :P
But now you need to compile only once than is always cached (both for OpenCL and CUDA).
Yes, I am aware of that... I just need to get used to it. :) None the less, great work, so thanks again.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
epilectrolytics wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 7:58 am
Still I cannot select devices in LuxCoreUI, same error as in BlendLuxCore:
Screenshot-(221).gif
Did you modify the .cfg file as mentioned?

epilectrolytics
Donor
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:06 am

Re: Windows Build FAILED

Post by epilectrolytics » Sun Apr 26, 2020 10:34 am

kintuX wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 9:33 am
Did you modify the .cfg file as mentioned?
That doesn't change anything, the Cornell file works the same with modification, once I try to change devices via UI editor there is an exit.

Cuda clearly works, sorting out devices not (yet) ;)

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 4817
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Windows Build FAILED

Post by Dade » Sun Apr 26, 2020 11:07 am

epilectrolytics wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 7:58 am
Still I cannot select devices in LuxCoreUI, same error as in BlendLuxCore:
I should have fixed this problem, this is likely to have fixed BlendLuxCore problem too.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

kintuX
Posts: 594
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:37 am

Re: Windows Build FAILED

Post by kintuX » Sun Apr 26, 2020 12:57 pm

Dade wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 11:07 am
epilectrolytics wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 7:58 am
Still I cannot select devices in LuxCoreUI, same error as in BlendLuxCore:
I should have fixed this problem, this is likely to have fixed BlendLuxCore problem too.
Sadly no, BlendLuxCore still gives an error.

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Users\309\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.81\scripts\addons\BlendLuxCore\engine\base.py", line 83, in render_final
    final.render(self, depsgraph)
  File "C:\Users\309\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.81\scripts\addons\BlendLuxCore\engine\final.py", line 49, in render
    _render_layer(engine, depsgraph, statistics, layer)
  File "C:\Users\309\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.81\scripts\addons\BlendLuxCore\engine\final.py", line 61, in _render_layer
    engine.session = engine.exporter.create_session(depsgraph, engine=engine, view_layer=view_layer)
  File "C:\Users\309\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.81\scripts\addons\BlendLuxCore\export\__init__.py", line 251, in create_session
    return pyluxcore.RenderSession(renderconfig)
RuntimeError: Hardware device selection string has the wrong length, must be 4 instead of 2
ERROR: Hardware device selection string has the wrong length, must be 4 instead of 2
IDK, but I think something else also needs to be done on the plugin side to show options for CUDA device/ rendering.

epilectrolytics
Donor
Posts: 708
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:06 am

Re: Windows Build FAILED

Post by epilectrolytics » Sun Apr 26, 2020 1:20 pm

Dade wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 11:07 am
I should have fixed this problem, this is likely to have fixed BlendLuxCore problem too.
In LuxCoreUI now everything works fine, two GPUs are listed as 4 devices, 2 x OCL + 2 x CUDA and can be selected and applied.
In BlendLuxCore I still get the same error that kintuX has posted above.

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 3872
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Windows Build FAILED

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Sun Apr 26, 2020 2:41 pm

In BlendLuxCore, I use pyluxcore.GetOpenCLDeviceList(): https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/BlendL ... ncl.py#L77

Maybe only the GetOpenCLDeviceDescs() function was fixed?
This is the output of List() and Descs() compared:

Code: Select all

>>> pyluxcore.GetOpenCLDeviceList()
[('GeForce RTX 2080', 'OPENCL_GPU', 46, 1, 8589934592, 2147483648)]

>>> print(pyluxcore.GetOpenCLDeviceDescs())
opencl.device.0.platform.name = "NVIDIA Corporation
opencl.device.0.platform.version = "OpenCL 1.2 CUDA 11.0.126
opencl.device.0.name = "GeForce RTX 2080"
opencl.device.0.type = "OPENCL_GPU"
opencl.device.0.units = 46
opencl.device.0.clock = 1815
opencl.device.0.nativevectorwidthfloat = 1
opencl.device.0.maxmemory = 8589934592
opencl.device.0.maxmemoryallocsize = 2147483648
opencl.device.0.localmemory = 49152
opencl.device.0.constmemory = 65536
opencl.device.1.platform.name = "NVIDIA"
opencl.device.1.platform.version = "UNKNOWN"
opencl.device.1.name = "GeForce RTX 2080"
opencl.device.1.type = "CUDA_GPU"
opencl.device.1.units = 64
opencl.device.1.clock = 0
opencl.device.1.nativevectorwidthfloat = 1
opencl.device.1.maxmemory = 8589934592
opencl.device.1.maxmemoryallocsize = 18446744073709551615
opencl.device.1.localmemory = 0
opencl.device.1.constmemory = 0

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 3872
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Windows Build FAILED

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Sun Apr 26, 2020 3:57 pm


User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 4817
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Windows Build FAILED

Post by Dade » Sun Apr 26, 2020 4:32 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 3:57 pm
I guess this needs an update? https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/LuxCor ... e.cpp#L121
It is a deprecated method: https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/LuxCor ... .cpp#L1752

I guess it is stil used in BlendLuxCore so I updated the code to support CUDA devices too but you should use the "GetOpenCLDeviceDescs()" in the future: https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/LuxCor ... .cpp#L1750
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Post Reply