Transitioning from VRay to LuxCoreRender

Discussion related to the LuxCore functionality, implementations and API.
happyboy

Transitioning from VRay to LuxCoreRender

Post by happyboy »

Dear all,

I'm a new user here. Currently we're evaluating LuxCoreRender and trying to transition from VRay. I'm a programmer and has already written a few maxscript to help our artists. Recently I've written some python codes to automatically create LuxCore materials in Blender (with the help of BlendLuxCore), and also writing .scn files from scratch. After that, I'm concentrating on spoting the differences between VRay and LuxCoreRender and try to find ways to transition.

There are many differences but the most obvious (and influencial) is lighting, so I'll start by asking about lighting.

Part I. For light objects, we're frequently using the following properties (in maxscript) for artist control/performance optimization, that I haven't found in luxcore (yet):

- light.affect_diffuse
- light.affect_specular
- light.affect_reflections
- light.includeList
- light.excludeList

Note that in VRay we're mostly using single-sided rectangle lights and spotlights with IES profile, so we're only interested in setting those properies in these light types.

There are also two rarely used properties:
- light.noDecay
- light.cast_shadows

But they're only used in special cases and are less important.

Part II. We use VRayMtlWrapper to wrap most materials.
- If the base material is a VRayLightMtl, sometimes we use mat.generateGI = false
- For transparent curtains ("sheer fabric"), we use mat.receiveGIMult = 2.0 for artist control

I wonder whether we can do similar things in luxcore, especially the "generateGI" switch. We'd like to keep only a small number of gi-generating lights to reduce both noise and render time (correct me if I'm wrong), and small lights are just for artist controls.

Part III. Using invisible lights.

Currently we're working on interior scenes only.