MaxToLux - Autodesk 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Discussion related to the LuxCore functionality, implementations and API.
User avatar
patro
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:09 pm
Location: mount Etna

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by patro » Tue Feb 23, 2021 5:40 pm

Yes it was Brazil renderer. I remember when this totorial came out it was a must to learn :D

User avatar
patro
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:09 pm
Location: mount Etna

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by patro » Wed Feb 24, 2021 7:37 pm

Hi TAO, i think to have spotted few bugs, but i need to know if they are meant first.

sure a bug: when rendering perspective view - no camera, what is shown in render doesn't match the rendered view in max.

I tried clear volume and homogeneous volume.
I added clear volume as fog, playng with the setting delivers always same density.
I added the homogeneous volume to a mesh, followed the blender tutorial from dravia, i didn't notice any change in my renders.
may you share a showcase scene.

Light material, playing with the gain and efficency won't affect lighting in the render.

btw, i can't really test maxtolux since instances aren't supported, i have large scenes with lots of instances, if i hit render now MaxtoLux abort render before running out of ram.

Thank you

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Posts: 582
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by TAO » Wed Feb 24, 2021 8:00 pm

patro wrote:
Wed Feb 24, 2021 7:37 pm
Hi TAO, i think to have spotted few bugs, but i need to know if they are meant first.

sure a bug: when rendering perspective view - no camera, what is shown in render doesn't match the rendered view in max.

I tried clear volume and homogeneous volume.
I added clear volume as fog, playng with the setting delivers always same density.
I added the homogeneous volume to a mesh, followed the blender tutorial from dravia, i didn't notice any change in my renders.
may you share a showcase scene.

Light material, playing with the gain and efficency won't affect lighting in the render.

btw, i can't really test maxtolux since instances aren't supported, i have large scenes with lots of instances, if i hit render now MaxtoLux abort render before running out of ram.

Thank you
I do not think the instance should be a big issue for you at the moment, because i test it with more than 500000 objects (of course low poly objects), and with OpenCl it took less than 6 GB of memory unless you have high poly instanced objects.
Othe part i need to check first.
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)
Latest build Download link👇👇
https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/MaxToLux/releases
Last update information
https://forums.luxcorerender.org/viewto ... 590#p30154

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 5221
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by Dade » Wed Feb 24, 2021 10:37 pm

TAO wrote:
Wed Feb 24, 2021 8:00 pm
I do not think the instance should be a big issue for you at the moment, because i test it with more than 500000 objects (of course low poly objects), and with OpenCl it took less than 6 GB of memory unless you have high poly instanced objects.
A very vague rule of thumb is: 10,000,000 of triangles for 1 GB of GPU ram.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Posts: 582
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by TAO » Wed Feb 24, 2021 10:48 pm

Dade wrote:
Wed Feb 24, 2021 10:37 pm
TAO wrote:
Wed Feb 24, 2021 8:00 pm
I do not think the instance should be a big issue for you at the moment, because i test it with more than 500000 objects (of course low poly objects), and with OpenCl it took less than 6 GB of memory unless you have high poly instanced objects.
A very vague rule of thumb is: 10,000,000 of triangles for 1 GB of GPU ram.
Thank you for the heads up. is that the same for system Memory too?
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)
Latest build Download link👇👇
https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/MaxToLux/releases
Last update information
https://forums.luxcorerender.org/viewto ... 590#p30154

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Posts: 582
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by TAO » Wed Feb 24, 2021 10:51 pm

patro wrote:
Wed Feb 24, 2021 7:37 pm
Hi TAO, i think to have spotted few bugs, but i need to know if they are meant first.

sure a bug: when rendering perspective view - no camera, what is shown in render doesn't match the rendered view in max.

I tried clear volume and homogeneous volume.
I added clear volume as fog, playng with the setting delivers always same density.
I added the homogeneous volume to a mesh, followed the blender tutorial from dravia, i didn't notice any change in my renders.
may you share a showcase scene.

Light material, playing with the gain and efficency won't affect lighting in the render.

btw, i can't really test maxtolux since instances aren't supported, i have large scenes with lots of instances, if i hit render now MaxtoLux abort render before running out of ram.

Thank you
So base on Dade point just hit the 7 number on the keyboard and simply check how many triangles your scene has.
Of course, I'll try to implement instance objects very soon but till then you need to be a little bit patient.
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)
Latest build Download link👇👇
https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/MaxToLux/releases
Last update information
https://forums.luxcorerender.org/viewto ... 590#p30154

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 5221
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by Dade » Thu Feb 25, 2021 1:42 am

TAO wrote:
Wed Feb 24, 2021 10:48 pm
Thank you for the heads up. is that the same for system Memory too?
Yes, more or less, keep in mind image maps usually take the majority of RAM in most scenes.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
patro
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:09 pm
Location: mount Etna

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by patro » Thu Feb 25, 2021 8:43 am

TAO wrote:
Wed Feb 24, 2021 8:00 pm
patro wrote:
Wed Feb 24, 2021 7:37 pm
Hi TAO, i think to have spotted few bugs, but i need to know if they are meant first.

sure a bug: when rendering perspective view - no camera, what is shown in render doesn't match the rendered view in max.

I tried clear volume and homogeneous volume.
I added clear volume as fog, playng with the setting delivers always same density.
I added the homogeneous volume to a mesh, followed the blender tutorial from dravia, i didn't notice any change in my renders.
may you share a showcase scene.

Light material, playing with the gain and efficency won't affect lighting in the render.

btw, i can't really test maxtolux since instances aren't supported, i have large scenes with lots of instances, if i hit render now MaxtoLux abort render before running out of ram.

Thank you
I do not think the instance should be a big issue for you at the moment, because i test it with more than 500000 objects (of course low poly objects), and with OpenCl it took less than 6 GB of memory unless you have high poly instanced objects.
Othe part i need to check first.
They are all high poly instanced objects, and it goes up to 12Gb ram being still in the middle of the process... before maxtolux abort the process itself.

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Posts: 582
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by TAO » Thu Feb 25, 2021 11:16 am

I'll try to implement a quick solution very soon.
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)
Latest build Download link👇👇
https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/MaxToLux/releases
Last update information
https://forums.luxcorerender.org/viewto ... 590#p30154

User avatar
patro
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 7:09 pm
Location: mount Etna

Re: MaxToLux - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Post by patro » Thu Feb 25, 2021 5:10 pm

TAO wrote:
Wed Feb 24, 2021 10:51 pm
So base on Dade point just hit the 7 number on the keyboard and simply check how many triangles your scene has.
Of course, I'll try to implement instance objects very soon but till then you need to be a little bit patient.
I've cheked the scene by hitting 7
polys 34.771.035
verts 17.742.370

Post Reply