Lux measurement using Irradiance feature

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
Forum rules
Please upload a testscene that allows developers to reproduce the problem, and attach some images.
pro

Lux measurement using Irradiance feature

Post by pro »

Hi,

I'm a new user of LuxCore and first of all I would like to thank you for open source LuxCoreRender - it's really a powerful tool. I am also new to the physics of light so please bear with me and correct me if i misinterpreted anything.

My goal is to obtain a numerical representation of illuminance on a given surface, measured in "lux" unit.
I found there is a "Irradiance feature" available in LuxCore (it has also a python API in Blender available) and I have questions related to it.

1. I found a radiological definition of "Irradiance" which is quantified in watts/m². Does your implementation also measure it in this unit? Which C++ files should I look to find more details about the implementation of Irradiance feature?
2. Since I want the result in "lux" unit (which is defined in photometry as Illuminance (lumen/m^2)) , I would like to ask you if it´s possible to obtain lux values in some way from Irradiance feature?
3. I was googling about the conversion from irradiance (radiological quantity) to illuminance (photometric quantity), but reading this https://www.researchgate.net/post/How_t ... m_2_to_lux i am not sure if a direct conversion exists?
4. Why is the constant 179 used as the default scale value in Irradiance feature? Does it have to to anything with the conversion from question 3?