Question regarding Mix-Node (Color Math)

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
Forum rules
Please upload a testscene that allows developers to reproduce the problem, and attach some images.
Mael2

Question regarding Mix-Node (Color Math)

Post by Mael2 »

Hi,

at first I have to say, that I am quite new to blender, luxcore and 3d in general. So maybe I get something wrong or I just don't know how to do it. Please have patience with me :D

Here is my question:

I try to combine 2 different roughness maps to give the material even more variation. So my plan was to use the color-math node and switch the mode to "mix". As I understand "Fac" regulates how much of which rougness map I can see. When I try to do the same in cycles I use the mix rgb node and it offers even more blending modes like "overlay" which seems to give more the result what I am looking for. For me it seems that "overlay" gives a better representation of both roughness maps at the same time. Is there something similar in luxcore like "overlay"?

I attached 2 pictures and maybe you can see what I mean.

Many thanks in advance!
Attachments
K1600_Cycles_Test.JPG
K1600_Luxcore_Test.JPG
Dade
Developer
Developer

Re: Question regarding Mix-Node (Color Math)

Post by Dade »

Classic bump mapping is not additive (i.e. if you add/mix 2 bump maps, the result is not the sum of the bumps). So operations over many bump maps are not very intuitive. There have been alternative solutions proposed over the years but pretty much everyone are still using the same classic bump mapping algorithm.

Said that, you can just pre-process the bump maps in Gimp/Photoshop/etc. and then use the baked result. There is is really no reason to mix the images at rendering time if you can mix them as pre-processing (i.e. pre-processing is faster). I think you can even bake the mixed bump maps in Cycles and than use the result in LuxCore.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
B.Y.O.B.
Developer