Setting Image for Spot Projector

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
igall2
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 1:07 pm

Re: Setting Image for Spot Projector

Post by igall2 » Sun May 13, 2018 12:38 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Thu May 10, 2018 4:41 pm
Please test your script with Cycles as render engine.
If it works ok there but not in BlendLuxCore, I will investigate.
Thanks B.Y.O.B,

I did as you suggested.
In cycles, the pattern always appears in the render results, on both computers.
(A link to the scene with cycles for JIC: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1WXLrZ ... 7eJmI1iZYJ)

Image

Would you be so kind to check this issue? :roll:

Many thanks,
Igal

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1598
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Setting Image for Spot Projector

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Tue May 15, 2018 4:14 pm

igall2 wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 12:38 pm
Would you be so kind to check this issue? :roll:
No need to roll your eyes.

I have modified your script a bit: https://gist.github.com/Theverat/e2cc13 ... ce63910133
- png output instead of EXR
- lower tonemapper scale so the image is not overexposed
- the main function is called in a loop so I can test it multiple times with minimal effort

I ran the script 100 times and every single image looks correct.

My configuration:
- LuxCore without OpenCL
- Linux

I called the script with

Code: Select all

../../programs/blender-2.79b-linux-glibc219-x86_64/blender --background "LuxRenderTest.blend" --python "render_scene.py"
Attachments
scrn_2018-05-15_18-08-04.png
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

igall2
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 1:07 pm

Re: Setting Image for Spot Projector

Post by igall2 » Thu May 17, 2018 8:20 am

Thanks B.Y.O.B,

I ran your script on Windows computers.
- On Win7 with OpenCL I had no problems.
- On Win10, without OpenCL, 33% of the images were without the pattern.
- On Win10, with OpenCL, 50% of the images were without the pattern.
Is it likely that the problem occurs specifically on Win10?

A screenshot of Win10 without OpenCL results:
Image

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1598
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Setting Image for Spot Projector

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Thu May 17, 2018 3:10 pm

We first have to track down what exactly is happening.
From your screenshot it seems like some image is found and loaded for the spot light.
If the image could not be loaded, the image would look like the attached one (pink to signal missing image, and round spotlight cone).

Maybe you rewrite your script so it runs inside Blender, and make it so you can interrupt it. Then let it render until the wrong result appears, interrupt the script and look at the scene to find out what it's doing.

You could also take the current script and enable "only write luxCore scene" (in TXT mode), then perform a diff on all the generated files to see if the error is in the .cfg or .scn files.

If it only happens on some computers but not others, it might even be a hardware problem, e.g. a faulty hard drive?
Attachments
scrn_2018-05-17_17-05-52.png
how a missing image should look like
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Post Reply