Interruption while rendering an animation

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
lighting_freak
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 6:02 pm

Interruption while rendering an animation

Post by lighting_freak » Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:40 pm

Hello,

this my current situation.
I'd like to do an animation with a little less than 300 frames.
The animation is a camera path only. So the observer is moving a little and the observed empty object is following a path.

After starting the animation it runs a certain period of time and generates result images like it should.
Somewhere in the middle of the process it stops at 100% of an rendering (50 samples in this case) and doesn't write any image anymore.
Also it doesn't continue rendering and remains at 100% status. This happens somehow randomly and could be after 5 successful frames as well as 100 successful frames.

Unfortunatly I can't present any sample file due to restrictive geometry. If really necessary I could try to create something that represents the issue, but maybe this description is enough on a first shot.

Thanks in advance.
BR
OS - Windows 7 X64
CPU - Intel CORE i7
GPU1 - Variants of notebook card from nVidia
GPU2 - Variants of notebook onboard card from Intel
Lux - Latest possible relaease

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1738
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Interruption while rendering an animation

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:53 pm

Hm, maybe it is related to this issue? https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/LuxCor ... -374547898

Which renderengine and halt conditions are you using?
Are you using tiled path?

You could try to reproduce the issue with a very simple scene (cube on a plane) and see if it also happens there.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

lighting_freak
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 6:02 pm

Re: Interruption while rendering an animation

Post by lighting_freak » Fri Mar 30, 2018 8:45 am

Hi,

I made this sample file:
untitled.blend
(633.83 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
It shows the described error very well.
The render settings within are identical with the config I was using in my model.

On my first shot - the render stopped after finishing frame 3 - no result image was written.
The missing HDRI could be downloaded there:
http://shtlab.blogspot.de/2009/08/hdri- ... -free.html

Hope you'll find the root cause.
Thank you-
BR.
OS - Windows 7 X64
CPU - Intel CORE i7
GPU1 - Variants of notebook card from nVidia
GPU2 - Variants of notebook onboard card from Intel
Lux - Latest possible relaease

jensverwiebe
Supporting Users
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:48 pm

Re: Interruption while rendering an animation

Post by jensverwiebe » Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:28 am

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:53 pm
Hm, maybe it is related to this issue? https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/LuxCor ... -374547898

Which renderengine and halt conditions are you using?
Are you using tiled path?

You could try to reproduce the issue with a very simple scene (cube on a plane) and see if it also happens there.
Thats a windows only problem: i rendered 300 frames on linux and osx from your testblend + pointed hdri without problems.

Jens

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1738
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Interruption while rendering an animation

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:37 am

jensverwiebe wrote:
Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:28 am
i rendered 300 frames on linux and osx from your testblend + pointed hdri without problems.
Did you use the latest sources?
I suspect that this bug was fixed since the last alpha release (in the issue I linked above).
So it is probably only reproducible with the last release.

lighting_freak, can you test again on monday when we release the beta1?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

jensverwiebe
Supporting Users
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:48 pm

Re: Interruption while rendering an animation

Post by jensverwiebe » Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:46 am

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:37 am
jensverwiebe wrote:
Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:28 am
i rendered 300 frames on linux and osx from your testblend + pointed hdri without problems.
Did you use the latest sources?
I suspect that this bug was fixed since the last alpha release (in the issue I linked above).
So it is probably only reproducible with the last release.

lighting_freak, can you test again on monday when we release the beta1?
Jep, always on latest src. Did not test alpha7.

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1738
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Interruption while rendering an animation

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:50 am

On my Linux with latest sources it also ran through fine.
But as I said, I doubt it has anything to do with Windows/Linux.
In the next release it should be fixed.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

jensverwiebe
Supporting Users
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:48 pm

Re: Interruption while rendering an animation

Post by jensverwiebe » Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:54 am

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:50 am
On my Linux with latest sources it also ran through fine.
But as I said, I doubt it has anything to do with Windows/Linux.
In the next release it should be fixed.
Hard to say without proof. Why not throwing him an actual pyluxcore.dll ?
So its sure the beta is fine on win .

lighting_freak
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 6:02 pm

Re: Interruption while rendering an animation

Post by lighting_freak » Fri Mar 30, 2018 11:02 am

Hi,

well, at the moment I'm on alpha 7.
OK, let's test on first beta as soon as it is available.

Thanks.
BR
OS - Windows 7 X64
CPU - Intel CORE i7
GPU1 - Variants of notebook card from nVidia
GPU2 - Variants of notebook onboard card from Intel
Lux - Latest possible relaease

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1738
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Interruption while rendering an animation

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Fri Mar 30, 2018 11:04 am

jensverwiebe wrote:
Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:54 am
Hard to say without proof.
Well before the fix I had the same bug (halt condition failing) on Linux.
Sure I did not test super watertight but currently I simply can't do this.
jensverwiebe wrote:
Fri Mar 30, 2018 10:54 am
Why not throwing him an actual pyluxcore.dll ?
I would do that if I could compile on Windows: https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/Window ... e/issues/1
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Post Reply