Resolution controls in camera settings

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
Post Reply
User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1093
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Resolution controls in camera settings

Post by lacilaci » Thu May 16, 2019 11:18 am

Would it be possible to have resolution controls in camera settings? The idea is to have control over resolution per camera.

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1325
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: Resolution controls in camera settings

Post by Sharlybg » Thu May 16, 2019 12:15 pm

lacilaci wrote:
Thu May 16, 2019 11:18 am
Would it be possible to have resolution controls in camera settings? The idea is to have control over resolution per camera.
This will be such a nice thing :idea:
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
Piita
Supporting Users
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:54 pm

Re: Resolution controls in camera settings

Post by Piita » Thu May 16, 2019 2:34 pm

That is a very good idea :)
Piitas.blog
Librem 5 - The privacy focused smart phone. It does not run Android or iOS that track you and send data about you to Google.

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2648
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Resolution controls in camera settings

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Thu May 16, 2019 3:25 pm

This is a Blender design issue, you should ask the Blender devs about it.
Some possible workarounds I found:
https://blender.stackexchange.com/quest ... resolution
https://blenderartists.org/t/multiple-c ... ion/536055

There's also a feature proposal on rightclickselect: https://blender.community/c/rightclickselect/Yjbbbc/

It might be possible to integrate some kind of workaround in our Blender addon, but I doubt it will be pretty. There are a lot of cases to think about: how to get the event that the user has switched the active camera, what if the active camera is changed during animation rendering, what if a movie is rendered and the resolution is changed in the middle of it?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2648
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Resolution controls in camera settings

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Fri May 17, 2019 7:06 pm

You can also check out the "photographer" addon, it has resolution controls per camera: https://blenderartists.org/t/photograph ... us/1101721
(You could also check the code how it's done, and we can port it to BlendLuxCore)
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1093
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: Resolution controls in camera settings

Post by lacilaci » Fri May 17, 2019 8:26 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Fri May 17, 2019 7:06 pm
You can also check out the "photographer" addon, it has resolution controls per camera: https://blenderartists.org/t/photograph ... us/1101721
(You could also check the code how it's done, and we can port it to BlendLuxCore)
It is a nice addon, but since blendluxcore already has dof and tonemapping controls it seems silly to now use a whole another camera addon if only benefit is having resolution controls per camera.

Post Reply