Luxcore Benchmark Scene v2.1 revisited and altered

Our forum gallery for displaying your finished renders.
birdnamnam

Luxcore Benchmark Scene v2.1 revisited and altered

Post by birdnamnam »

Hi all. New here.

I'm a Blender user for the last 4-5 years, but involved in 3d stuff for many more. I've used many apps in the past from traditional CAD to polygon modelers, like Archicad, Rhino, Alias, 3ds max and Blender. I've also tried out several rendering engines, like Vray, Corona, Maxwell, Keyshot and Cycles of course.

I started playing around with Luxcore a couple of days ago and I thought I’d give a try to this engine in order to see its pros and cons. I downloaded the Luxcore 2.1 Benchmark scene from the Luxcore Site. I really liked the mood and the feeling of it, the calmness I guess, and I started altering materials, removing and adding objects etc. I downloaded some free models from 3dsky (bottle of wine and plaster ornaments) and added 4 simple wine glasses in order to see how glass renders with this engine. Not the perfect example, I know, but I can’t remember glasses looking so real in Cycles, which is the rendering engine I use nowadays.

Of course, I still have many things to learn. I just started. The image isn’t perfect, and I couldn’t find a way to remove noise from some specific parts (even with OIDN enabled), but I think I’ll continue to experiment with Luxcore, because I think it has a great potential, especially in archviz scenes like this one.

I slightly edited the image in Photoshop (I removed some fireflies and noisy spots here and there), mostly adding contrast and lowering some burned highlights. That’s all.

The chair used in this scene is an old model of mine. I made it in Rhino, several years ago. It’s a modern Italian style living room/dining chair. I hope you like the conception.