What If Luxcore RT

General computer graphic news and papers.
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Posts: 2908
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: What If Luxcore RT

Post by Sharlybg » Thu Oct 08, 2020 10:32 am

So far I'm seeing lot of hybrid solutions rather than leaving rasterization. Raytracing gives fast and high quality shadows, proper reflections and refractions, but for GI it is horribly slow.
Of course it is a process they are not going to jump to full path tracing in month but it the end goal leave rasterising to realtime ray tracing.
This is quite an outdated information right there
lightmaps can be auto generated on import
the custom lightmass settings were popular for cpu lightmass which is completely different tool in both quality and speed compared to the new gpu lightmass which is better and much faster and currently in 4.26 beta also has denoiser options.
thanks for the update but lumen is going to even redifine all that. ;)

here's an 10 second baking VLM grid example on trees, something incredibly difficult and slow in old cpu lightmass:
https://www.artstation.com/artwork/W2ZkG2
Theses tree are gorgeous. All that plus volumetric in realtime will be hard to beat for sure.Reason why i still say that offline renderer must drastically improve Performance. thanks Laci for sharing.
Also I disagree about quality:
https://www.behance.net/gallery/1056932 ... l%20engine

https://www.behance.net/gallery/1016424 ... l%20engine

https://www.behance.net/gallery/1055682 ... l%20engine

https://www.behance.net/gallery/9765458 ... l%20engine

I easily take this quality in realtime over waiting for a single render even minutes. And many clients will too.
Great quality renders. What about the lighting workflow is it possible to use just an HDRi for interior like we do with Offline ? or we still need tricks ?
This is what rtxgi or ddgi does, and not only it runs on directX and RT cores but it is also highly dependant on probe density and from the results I've seen it falls apart rapidly if smaller objects are indirectly lit in a larger room for example. At some point it might evolve into something more powerful but right now it's a bit complicated and also not sure how pathtracer would use probes and how it would impact quality.
We are at a very Big revolution Era in Computer graphic things are moving fast in all direction hardware software. Lot of things become rapidly obsolete It is interessing how it is gonna unfold and give us a big picture of what is the way to go. i have my eyes on every possibility and the old unreal didn't take more than a couple of days to start using it so i guess the new one are going to be a lot easier and less time consuming.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Posts: 2908
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: What If Luxcore RT

Post by Sharlybg » Thu Oct 08, 2020 12:35 pm

Ok This is Unreal 4. I wann't even imagine how Unreal 5 will be :

Video

https://youtu.be/Pg75bfkegtU

Image

Image

Image

Image
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
FarbigeWelt
Donor
Posts: 1033
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 12:07 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: What If Luxcore RT

Post by FarbigeWelt » Thu Oct 08, 2020 11:42 pm

Sharlybg wrote:
Thu Oct 08, 2020 12:35 pm
Ok This is Unreal 4. I wann't even imagine how Unreal 5 will be :

Video

https://youtu.be/Pg75bfkegtU
Do you like clouds, time lapse and speed?
Then check this!
Unreal Engine 5 on Play Station 5
Light and Word designing Creator - www.farbigewelt.ch - aka quantenkristall || #luxcorerender
Windows 10 Pro 64 || 2x16 Cores, AMD Ryzen 3950X @3.5GHz, 64 GB RAM, DDR4 @3.2 GHz
2x openCL, AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT, 8 GB VRAM || Gfp = SFFT Gflops

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Posts: 1968
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: What If Luxcore RT

Post by lacilaci » Fri Oct 09, 2020 4:36 am

FarbigeWelt wrote:
Thu Oct 08, 2020 11:42 pm
Sharlybg wrote:
Thu Oct 08, 2020 12:35 pm
Ok This is Unreal 4. I wann't even imagine how Unreal 5 will be :

Video

https://youtu.be/Pg75bfkegtU
Do you like clouds, time lapse and speed?
Then check this!
Unreal Engine 5 on Play Station 5
That's a fake video, there are some shots in there from a year old ue4 short film from quixel
https://youtu.be/9fC20NWhx4s

kintuX
Posts: 710
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:37 am

Re: What If Luxcore RT

Post by kintuX » Fri Oct 09, 2020 6:36 am

And others getting closer to being production ready...

Otoy's Brigade, pure PT in real time (@60fps)
giving 4K @ 60fps on RTX 3090 & version 'X' is even running on IOS devices + getting GI cache

Chaos Group's project Lavina, hybrid (PT + raster, @ 60fps)

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Posts: 2908
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: What If Luxcore RT

Post by Sharlybg » Fri Oct 09, 2020 8:26 am

I think it is something within reach for Luxcore renderer.

1).Let's say we manage to get something Like path guiding speed bump onto GPU resulting in a 6X to 8X speedup.

2).Then Let's say Upscaling become available from Nvidia or AMD or INTEL So here we can get a 4X time speed up using half the original resolution

3).Then you have Something like Nvidia Slow motion AI to render less frame https://youtu.be/MjViy6kyiqs as seen here can result in a 3X speed up.

Let's do the Math : 6X4 = 24 and 24X3 = 72X time speed up. Now let's you have a project where each frame take 20 minute on you 2060S to render without Cache and apply a 72X speed up on it :

20mn in second = 1200 sec
1200 / 72 = 16,66 sec per frame.

4)Let go even further you drop the 2060S for a 3080 you get another 4X speed up : so from 20minute to 16.66 sec now to 5 sec per frames.

Image

Now is all that Realistic ?

Let's take actual solution:

1/Never seen something like that for GPU but there is all that on CPU (and it is where the 8X speeed up came from).But we don't have it now.

Image

2/ Aside from DLSS wich work on raster and DirectX there Ai Gigapixel solution wich work pretty well on image sequence.
Better there is davinci resolve superscale solution but it actually in the non free version :mrgreen:

3/ Never see a Nvidia SDK for Devs about Slow mo but there is Davinci resolve Solution for free : https://youtu.be/GkKdKi6ZLUI

4 Yes the 3080 do exist even if it is hard to pick one atm but it is a question of time. And you can even take 2 of them.


But it is a bunch of IF :mrgreen:
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
FarbigeWelt
Donor
Posts: 1033
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 12:07 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: What If Luxcore RT

Post by FarbigeWelt » Fri Oct 09, 2020 9:29 am

lacilaci wrote:
Fri Oct 09, 2020 4:36 am
FarbigeWelt wrote:
Thu Oct 08, 2020 11:42 pm

Do you like clouds, time lapse and speed?
Then check this!
Unreal Engine 5 on Play Station 5
That's a fake video, there are some shots in there from a year old ue4 short film from quixel
https://youtu.be/9fC20NWhx4s
:oops: Thank you for posting a corrective.

I :evil: hate fakes :evil: !
Light and Word designing Creator - www.farbigewelt.ch - aka quantenkristall || #luxcorerender
Windows 10 Pro 64 || 2x16 Cores, AMD Ryzen 3950X @3.5GHz, 64 GB RAM, DDR4 @3.2 GHz
2x openCL, AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT, 8 GB VRAM || Gfp = SFFT Gflops

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Posts: 2908
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: Crisis runing on GPU memory

Post by Sharlybg » Fri Oct 09, 2020 1:35 pm

A guy just installed Crisis on it 3090 GPU instead of the regular SSD or Hard drive and it work.
He is doing it with this software called GPURAMDDRIVE : https://github.com/prsyahmi/GpuRamDrive
Articles Links :
https://www.techpowerup.com/273007/crys ... ddr6x-vram

Image

It run at 75fps :

Image

Wonder wich king of application thoses thing can have for Offline renderer :?:
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 4125
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: What If Luxcore RT

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Fri Oct 09, 2020 2:08 pm

Doesn't really make sense.
It only affects the inital level loading time.
And to load the level, the game has to transfer the data from the GPU to RAM, then transfer it back to the GPU. It would make more sense to create a RAM-disk in the regular RAM.

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Posts: 1968
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: What If Luxcore RT

Post by lacilaci » Sun Oct 11, 2020 11:51 am

Even lightmap baking can give real-time feedback and once saved can be reused
https://youtu.be/YegpWp0x5io


But yeah. Soon even that tech might get replaced with a true real-time gi

Post Reply