Giga Benchmark battle : Luxcore Redshift CyclesX ECycles Vray Corona

General project and community related discussions and offtopic threads.
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3101
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: Giga Benchmark battle : Luxcore Redshift CyclesX ECycles Vray Corona

Post by Sharlybg »

Do I need this one

Code: Select all

path.maxdepth = 32
Look like light path value we change inside blender.
Or is something else ?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA
marcatore
Donor
Donor
Posts: 463
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 8:04 am

Re: Giga Benchmark battle : Luxcore Redshift CyclesX ECycles Vray Corona

Post by marcatore »

Dade wrote: Mon Jul 12, 2021 12:11 pm Are you mislead by the number of samples per pixel ? I took the screen shots at random points to show the difference in samples/sec and not in noise.

First was taken with 31 samples per pixel while the last was taken with 207 samples per pixel (clearly the last has less noise even with fast RR settings).
Clear... sorry. You're right.
Neverming... I was just dreaming looking at that image :)
JulianoLisboa
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 3:29 am

Re: Giga Benchmark battle : Luxcore Redshift CyclesX ECycles Vray Corona

Post by JulianoLisboa »

Dade wrote: Mon Jul 12, 2021 12:07 pm
Sharlybg wrote: Mon Jul 12, 2021 9:24 am
Dade wrote: Sat Jul 10, 2021 11:04 am

There are more settings:

Code: Select all

# Higher is the max. depth and more effect RR settings will have
path.maxdepth = 32
# At what depth, RR will start to operate: lower is faster. Range [0, path.maxdepth]
path.russianroulette.depth = 3
# At what value, RR will start to operate: lower is faster. Range [0.0, 1.0]
path.russianroulette.cap = 0.5
Please Dade can i have all the settings for the super fast RR ? the one that produce this image :
Image
This (faster):

Code: Select all

path.maxdepth = 32
path.russianroulette.depth = 1
path.russianroulette.cap = 0.0
Vs. (slower):

Code: Select all

path.maxdepth = 32
path.russianroulette.depth = 32
path.russianroulette.cap = 1.0

This doesn't work in Blendluxcore correct?
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3101
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: Giga Benchmark battle : Luxcore Redshift CyclesX ECycles Vray Corona

Post by Sharlybg »

In Blendluxcore it should be like this i think :

Code: Select all

path.maxdepth : 32,
path.russianroulette.depth : 32,
path.russianroulette.cap : 1.0,
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA
JulianoLisboa
Posts: 146
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 3:29 am

Re: Giga Benchmark battle : Luxcore Redshift CyclesX ECycles Vray Corona

Post by JulianoLisboa »

Sharlybg wrote: Mon Jul 12, 2021 2:08 pm In Blendluxcore it should be like this i think :

Code: Select all

path.maxdepth : 32,
path.russianroulette.depth : 32,
path.russianroulette.cap : 1.0,
I don't know how to do it, is it by command line?
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Giga Benchmark battle : Luxcore Redshift CyclesX ECycles Vray Corona

Post by B.Y.O.B. »

You put them in this file at this location: https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/BlendL ... fig.py#L63
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3101
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: Giga Benchmark battle : Luxcore Redshift CyclesX ECycles Vray Corona

Post by Sharlybg »

B.Y.O.B. wrote: Mon Jul 12, 2021 8:15 pm You put them in this file at this location: https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/BlendL ... fig.py#L63
the python file to be modified is in your blendluxcore installation folder inside blender script appdata roaming blabla it is the config.py inside the export folder of blendluxcore.
And you will end with that:

Code: Select all


definitions.update({
            "path.maxdepth" : 32,
            "path.russianroulette.depth" : 32,
            "path.russianroulette.cap" : 1.0,
            "renderengine.type": luxcore_engine,
            "sampler.type": sampler,
            "film.width": width,
            "film.height": height,
            "film.filter.type": filter_type,
            "film.filter.width": config.filter_width,
            "lightstrategy.type": light_strategy,
            "scene.epsilon.min": config.min_epsilon,
            "scene.epsilon.max": config.max_epsilon,
            "path.albedospecular.type": scene.luxcore.denoiser.albedo_specular_passthrough_mode,
            "path.albedospecular.glossinessthreshold": 0.05,
        })
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3101
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: Giga Benchmark battle : Luxcore Redshift CyclesX ECycles Vray Corona

Post by Sharlybg »

Or take this python file modified of the original config.py inside blendluxore folder :
config.zip
(5.19 KiB) Downloaded 189 times
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Giga Benchmark battle : Luxcore Redshift CyclesX ECycles Vray Corona

Post by Dade »

Are you aware you are using the slowest possible settings (not the fastest) ? And it was a proof of concept: a depth of 32 is quite extreme.

P.S. don't use path.maxdepth, it is already exposed in BlendLuxCore (and you are overwriting the BlendLuxCore setting or BlendLuxCore is overwriting your; It depends on the order of definitions).
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
bestman8
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2020 6:45 pm

Re: Giga Benchmark battle : Luxcore Redshift CyclesX ECycles Vray Corona

Post by bestman8 »

how hard would it be to have that setting in the ui like under advanced
Post Reply