Problems for getting the caustics in a pool

General project and community related discussions and offtopic threads.
jorari71
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:48 am

Re: Problems for getting the caustics in a pool

Post by jorari71 » Thu May 13, 2021 4:01 pm

A test from above:
As you can see there are no caustics.
Attachments
Top_test.jpg

jorari71
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:48 am

Re: Problems for getting the caustics in a pool

Post by jorari71 » Thu May 13, 2021 4:15 pm

Doing a more detailed inspection in the compositor I noticed that there's a "caustics" output but it is not connnected...Do we need to?
Attachments
No_caustic_connected.jpg

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Posts: 661
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Problems for getting the caustics in a pool

Post by TAO » Thu May 13, 2021 5:05 pm

I think you can try these parameters if you do not already do.
Screenshot 2021-05-13 190412.jpeg
As you can see the result should be what you can start with it to get what you want.
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)
Latest build Download link👇👇
https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/MaxToLux/releases
Last update information
https://forums.luxcorerender.org/viewto ... 590#p30154

jorari71
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:48 am

Re: Problems for getting the caustics in a pool

Post by jorari71 » Thu May 13, 2021 5:21 pm

Aha.
And, could you see the caustics pass ? I would like to see what it shows.
Thanks in advance.

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Posts: 661
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Problems for getting the caustics in a pool

Post by TAO » Thu May 13, 2021 5:35 pm

it's a new render with the exact same settings hope that helps.
Screenshot 2021-05-13 193339.jpeg
I am really an amateur in blender you need to tell me how I can get the caustic pass for you.
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)
Latest build Download link👇👇
https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/MaxToLux/releases
Last update information
https://forums.luxcorerender.org/viewto ... 590#p30154

jorari71
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:48 am

Re: Problems for getting the caustics in a pool

Post by jorari71 » Thu May 13, 2021 6:08 pm

Could I send you my scene via private?

jorari71
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:48 am

Re: Problems for getting the caustics in a pool

Post by jorari71 » Thu May 13, 2021 6:27 pm

This is how you can see the caustic pass but first you have to activate the showing of the caustic pass.
I have attached two captures in order to activate the showing info caustic's pass and how to show this caustic pass.
I hope it helps.
Attachments
caustic_info.jpg
caustic_info_activation.jpg

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 5322
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Problems for getting the caustics in a pool

Post by Dade » Thu May 13, 2021 6:46 pm

jorari71 wrote:
Thu May 13, 2021 3:53 pm
This is a capture of the caustic pass...As you can see there are no caustic created:
Your HDR is likely to not have a strong enough capture of the sun light intensity. Can you try the same scene with Sun+Sky light source ?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

jorari71
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:48 am

Re: Problems for getting the caustics in a pool

Post by jorari71 » Thu May 13, 2021 6:51 pm

I'm sorry perhaps you take as reference this capture not intended to be used as a result because I use compositor in order to asdjust it well, in this way the image I get is this, not the last one which was intended only to show how to activate the caustics pass. The final image after adjusting it with Lightgroups and compositor:
Attachments
test2.jpg

User avatar
TAO
Developer
Posts: 661
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Problems for getting the caustics in a pool

Post by TAO » Thu May 13, 2021 6:59 pm

jorari71 wrote:
Thu May 13, 2021 6:27 pm
This is how you can see the caustic pass but first you have to activate the showing of the caustic pass.
I have attached two captures in order to activate the showing info caustic's pass and how to show this caustic pass.
I hope it helps.
I'm not able to find the option I do not know why! by the way, I'm not a blender expert, may miss something.
Screenshot 2021-05-13 205715.jpeg
you can send your scene to me or SharlyBg in private to fixed it for you and use it as a reference for your other projects.
Omid Ghotbi (TAO)
Latest build Download link👇👇
https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/MaxToLux/releases
Last update information
https://forums.luxcorerender.org/viewto ... 590#p30154

Post Reply