BlendLuxCore Development

Discussion related to the LuxCore functionality, implementations and API.
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 3623
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Sun May 17, 2020 7:08 pm

On CUDA builds, you can now choose between OpenCL and CUDA in the addon preferences.
Devices will no longer list GPUs twice.
Attachments
Capture.PNG

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Posts: 1928
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by lacilaci » Sun May 17, 2020 7:29 pm

Good. Just a question though..

Since there is now a setting that allows switching cuda/opencl does it make sense to have separate builds for opencl and cuda support?

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 3623
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Sun May 17, 2020 7:37 pm

The plan is to have only one build that runs everywhere in the future.

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Posts: 2082
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by Sharlybg » Sun May 17, 2020 7:45 pm

That is a nice addition.
How does it work when you have both AMD and NVIdia GPU i guest you select Opencl if you want both GPU to work and CUDA if you wann't use AMD for rendering.

Btw is it possible to have compilation done and saved directly inside the build. So user do no longer see compilation ?
I mean when Luxcore tell he is doing one time compilation the result of this operation is saved somewhere so why not have this resulted file pre compiled in advance inside builds ?

I hope i'm not missing a step like each PC have a different compilation file depending on the hardware available.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 3623
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Sun May 17, 2020 8:04 pm

Sharlybg wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 7:45 pm
How does it work when you have both AMD and NVIdia GPU i guest you select Opencl if you want both GPU to work and CUDA if you wann't use AMD for rendering.
Good point, I have not taken this possibility into account. Currently you have to select OpenCL in this case, which will then be used for all devices.

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 4393
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by Dade » Sun May 17, 2020 10:52 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 8:04 pm
Sharlybg wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 7:45 pm
How does it work when you have both AMD and NVIdia GPU i guest you select Opencl if you want both GPU to work and CUDA if you wann't use AMD for rendering.
Good point, I have not taken this possibility into account. Currently you have to select OpenCL in this case, which will then be used for all devices.
For the record, LuxCore is fully capable to use OpenCL and CUDA devices at the same time.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 3623
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Sun May 17, 2020 11:05 pm

Dade wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 10:52 pm
For the record, LuxCore is fully capable to use OpenCL and CUDA devices at the same time.
What I'm missing a bit is some kind of unique device ID, that would allow me to detect which devices have both OpenCL and CUDA capabilities and which don't. Currently all I can do is compare names, which are not unique.
I guess it isn't strictly necessary to have this though, since it's unlikely that Nvidia, AMD and Intel will all use the same name for some device.

User avatar
Odilkhan Yakubov
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 10:07 pm
Location: Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by Odilkhan Yakubov » Sun May 17, 2020 11:10 pm

@B.Y.O.B. , Nice addition I think too. Now everytime I don't change the Compute settings.
Allah bless us!

CPU: Core 2 Quad Q6600 @2.4Ghz
GPU: MSI GTX 1060 6Gb GDDR5 192bit
RAM: 3Gb DDR2 800Mhz (too old :( )
OS: Win7 64bit
Blender: 2.82a (2.90 too)
LuxCore: v2.3 (using Latest build sometimes too)

User avatar
Odilkhan Yakubov
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 10:07 pm
Location: Tashkent, Uzbekistan

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by Odilkhan Yakubov » Sun May 17, 2020 11:12 pm

Guys, are in your plans new "paper" integrations "GSoC" (Google Summer of Code)?
Allah bless us!

CPU: Core 2 Quad Q6600 @2.4Ghz
GPU: MSI GTX 1060 6Gb GDDR5 192bit
RAM: 3Gb DDR2 800Mhz (too old :( )
OS: Win7 64bit
Blender: 2.82a (2.90 too)
LuxCore: v2.3 (using Latest build sometimes too)

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 3623
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Wed May 20, 2020 9:01 pm

I have added an interactive render settings guide.
It asks a view questions and assings render settings based on the answers.
It is meant for newer users, to show which render settings are a good idea in which scene types.
Feedback and ideas welcome.
Attachments
sdf.PNG
Capture.PNG

Post Reply