pathOCL turning singlesided meshes transparent

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1539
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

pathOCL turning singlesided meshes transparent

Post by lacilaci » Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:31 am

This is something I have hard time replicating in isolated scenes but several times already I had this problem where planar single sided meshes would disappear when rendered with pathOCL

pathOCL:
transp.jpg
pathCPU:
nottransp.jpg
mesh:
mesh.jpg
mesh has no problems and normals pointing the right way, in fact in past I've experienced this problem even with basic plane... I don't know yet how to replicate the problem..

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1539
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: pathOCL turning singlesided meshes transparent

Post by lacilaci » Mon Sep 09, 2019 10:53 am

it's just so weird..

look at tables on the lower level, you can see their white tabletops even from distance...
lower.jpg
but the ones on the top level suddenly have their top disappearing...
up.jpg
these are all instances of the same object

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1539
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: pathOCL turning singlesided meshes transparent

Post by lacilaci » Mon Sep 09, 2019 11:05 am

aaand, if I move the very same broken table from top level next to one on the lower level.. It's tabletop appears again normally.... I'm so confused
moved.jpg

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2881
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: pathOCL turning singlesided meshes transparent

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:28 pm

Does the table have some weird transformation on it, like negative scale, or is it scaled up/down a lot?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

kintuX
Posts: 446
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:37 am

Re: pathOCL turning singlesided meshes transparent

Post by kintuX » Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:35 pm

I think it's precision issue, starting with huge plane/boundary to satisfy the need for horizon... can you remove the big stuff from your scene and check again?

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1539
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: pathOCL turning singlesided meshes transparent

Post by lacilaci » Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:42 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:28 pm
Does the table have some weird transformation on it, like negative scale, or is it scaled up/down a lot?
I tried reseting transforms it still shows...
tables.jpg
But I don't understand why some copies show normally (these are all a single linked collection)
But it's not related to linking since it happened to me once on multiple copies of a single plane in single scene where all planes went invisible for render until I added thickness...

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1539
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: pathOCL turning singlesided meshes transparent

Post by lacilaci » Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:43 pm

kintuX wrote:
Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:35 pm
I think it's precision issue, starting with huge plane/boundary to satisfy the need for horizon... can you remove the big stuff from your scene and check again?
There is no ocean mesh anymore (it's disabled from rendering) what you see is just ground color set in sky shader

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2933
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm

Re: pathOCL turning singlesided meshes transparent

Post by Dade » Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:55 pm

You should post a test scene.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1539
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: pathOCL turning singlesided meshes transparent

Post by lacilaci » Mon Sep 09, 2019 3:02 pm

I can make copies around the bad table and they're ok, but the moment I put a table in the spot as the bad one, it becomes also bad :D
Doesn't even need to be exactly at the same spot....
tables2.jpg

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1539
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: pathOCL turning singlesided meshes transparent

Post by lacilaci » Mon Sep 09, 2019 3:04 pm

Dade wrote:
Mon Sep 09, 2019 2:55 pm
You should post a test scene.
Yes I should, but I cannot replicate this error in an isolated scene... It only happens here... I have an idea how to replicate, will try tomorrow..

Post Reply