Gui loop time

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
Forum rules
Please upload a testscene that allows developers to reproduce the problem, and attach some images.
Fox
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:17 am

Gui loop time

Post by Fox »

What is the gui loop time, the first and the one in round brackets?
Image

Update
Some variation, but the GUI sleep time is always 0.
Image
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Gui loop time

Post by Dade »

ImGUI (the toolkit used by LuxCoreUI) is an OpenGL UI and the GUI loop is the time between 2 consecutive UI refresh ... apparently it is 30secs for you :shock:

Are you using something like the denoiser image pipeline plugin ? Oh, I see you are using BIDIRVMCPU and given the film resolution you may run out of memory (i.e. swapping on disk).

If the loop is too fast, the code will start to sleep between 2 refreshes in order to not eat all your CPU and GPU time.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
Fox
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:17 am

Re: Gui loop time

Post by Fox »

No it's not swapping, i have 30GB free memory.
No denoiser or image pipeline plugin.
It's running on CPU e5 2620 v4.
The film refresh was as slow on LuxRender 1.7 if not slower, but it did not lag in there.
Fox
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:17 am

Re: Gui loop time

Post by Fox »

Here with 10 times less megapixels at 1080p res, the gui loop time is 2000 times faster and the lag is almost none.
Image
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Gui loop time

Post by Dade »

If you want to reduce the lag, try to increase the "Screen refresh" time as much as you can.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
Fox
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:17 am

Re: Gui loop time

Post by Fox »

I tested the m and n keys in luxcore ui, didn't help.
https://youtu.be/PcdiZrpsits

The renderer can save film, exr png with little speed hit, but the ui itself is unresponsive to open, to get in window menu to change light layer gain.
When you get some window open, it's slow to change value, but the hardest thing is to stretch window larger (then it goes smaller or closes).

The windows blue spinning wheel appears frozen, but was actually always spinning.

I have been able to open menus just by resting the mouse cursor over menu button and when it goes blue i click it, but in that short time i was not successful.
Fox
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:17 am

Re: Gui loop time

Post by Fox »

BlendLuxCore is very usable, you can see the ui is responsive at same resolution, but It's frozen when film is refreshing.
https://youtu.be/iF-sTLPOaO8
Fox
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:17 am

Re: Gui loop time

Post by Fox »

Upped the Screen refresh to 600 000 ms, but there seems to be something else hanging the ui within few second interval or so for as long as 1 film refresh takes. Maybe i need to wait longer until the 600 000 ms goes in effect.
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Gui loop time

Post by B.Y.O.B. »

Have you tried the image view tool? (In the menu at the top, open "Tool", then select "Image View").
Fox
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:17 am

Re: Gui loop time

Post by Fox »

Yes i have it on image view mode.

Code: Select all

film.filter.type = "MITCHELL_SS"
film.filter.mitchellss.b = 0.333333
film.filter.mitchellss.c = 0.333333
film.width = 3620
film.height = 5430
periodicsave.film.period = 3600
periodicsave.film.filename = "film.flm"
periodicsave.film.outputs.period = 2400
screen.refresh.interval = 4000
film.safesave = 1
film.outputs.safesave = 1
sampler.type = "METROPOLIS"
sampler.metropolis.largesteprate = 0.10000000000000001
sampler.metropolis.maxconsecutivereject = 2048
sampler.metropolis.imagemutationrate = 0.10000000000000001
renderengine.type = "BIDIRVMCPU"
filesaver.renderengine.type = "BIDIRVMCPU"
light.maxdepth = 128
path.maxdepth = 128
path.russianroulette.depth = 8
path.russianroulette.cap = 0.1
bidirvm.lightpath.count = 1000
bidirvm.startradius.scale = 0.002
bidirvm.alpha = 0.99
lightstrategy.type = "POWER"
renderengine.seed = 1
native.threads.count = 15
accelerator.type = "AUTO"
accelerator.instances.enable = 1
scene.epsilon.min = 9.9999999747524271e-07
scene.epsilon.max = 0.0099999997764825821
screen.tool.type = IMAGE_VIEW
film.imagepipelines.0.0.type = "NOP"
film.imagepipelines.0.1.type = "TONEMAP_LUXLINEAR"
film.imagepipelines.0.1.fstop = 5.5999999046325684
film.imagepipelines.0.1.exposure = 0.0099999997764825821
film.imagepipelines.0.1.sensitivity = 100
film.imagepipelines.0.2.type = "CAMERA_RESPONSE_FUNC"
film.imagepipelines.0.2.name = "Kodachrome_64CD"
film.imagepipelines.0.3.type = "GAMMA_CORRECTION"
film.imagepipelines.0.3.value = 2.2000000000000002
film.imagepipelines.1.0.type = "NOP"
film.imagepipelines.1.1.type = "TONEMAP_LUXLINEAR"
film.imagepipelines.1.1.fstop = 5.5999999046325684
film.imagepipelines.1.1.exposure = 0.0099999997764825821
film.imagepipelines.1.1.sensitivity = 100
film.imagepipelines.1.2.type = "CAMERA_RESPONSE_FUNC"
film.imagepipelines.1.2.name = "Kodachrome_64CD"
film.imagepipelines.1.3.type = "GAMMA_CORRECTION"
film.imagepipelines.1.3.value = 2.2000000000000002
film.imagepipelines.0.radiancescales.0.enabled = 1
film.imagepipelines.0.radiancescales.0.globalscale = 1
film.imagepipelines.0.radiancescales.0.rgbscale = 1 1 1
film.imagepipelines.0.radiancescales.1.enabled = 1
film.imagepipelines.0.radiancescales.1.globalscale = 1
film.imagepipelines.0.radiancescales.2.enabled = 1
film.imagepipelines.0.radiancescales.2.globalscale = 0.003333
film.imagepipelines.0.radiancescales.3.enabled = 1
film.imagepipelines.0.radiancescales.3.globalscale = 2.5
film.imagepipelines.1.radiancescales.0.enabled = 1
film.imagepipelines.1.radiancescales.1.enabled = 0
film.imagepipelines.1.radiancescales.2.enabled = 0
film.imagepipelines.1.radiancescales.3.enabled = 0
film.outputs.0.type = "RGB_IMAGEPIPELINE"
film.outputs.0.index = 0
film.outputs.0.filename = "RGB_IMAGEPIPELINE_0.png"
film.outputs.1.type = "RGB"
film.outputs.1.index = 1
film.outputs.1.filename = "RGB.exr"
scene.file = "scene.scn"
Post Reply