Strange Behavior with OpenCl

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
Forum rules
Please upload a testscene that allows developers to reproduce the problem, and attach some images.
Post Reply
User avatar
TAO
Developer
Developer
Posts: 851
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Strange Behavior with OpenCl

Post by TAO »

In addition to the last dark render with bump texture on LuxCore 2.4 and up. I keep seeing the same pattern with geometries even with no texture at all. low poly and high poly.
This is happening only with openCL.
Screenshot 2021-01-17 020440.jpg
Screenshot 2021-01-17 020508.jpg
The same scene with CPU render and GPU render.
Also, I can see an EXR image that is not in my scene. not sure why!
tColor2021.zip
(3.08 MiB) Downloaded 134 times
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Strange Behavior with OpenCl

Post by Dade »

It is a numerical precision problem, the size of your scene is HUGE, it is about 200m large.

You can fix the problem by using a realistic size or changing the default epsilon for something appropriate for you scene size:

Code: Select all

scene.epsilon.min = 0.01
scene.epsilon.max = 0.1
The default epsilon values in LuxCore are appropriate for rendering something like a room (i.e. something 4m large). You need to increase the espilon for a lot larger scenes or reduce for a lot smaller.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
User avatar
TAO
Developer
Developer
Posts: 851
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Strange Behavior with OpenCl

Post by TAO »

How can I found the exact size of the scene, and is this better to rescale the scene before render or the option you mention will do the same.
Because in 3dsmax the scene is 2m x 2m.
User avatar
TAO
Developer
Developer
Posts: 851
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Strange Behavior with OpenCl

Post by TAO »

And one question, why the rendered result is different from v2.3 and 2.4?
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Strange Behavior with OpenCl

Post by B.Y.O.B. »

In Lux the scene unit is meters. It sounds like your 3ds max is using centimeters. You will have to check if you can change this in 3ds or if you have to convert the units during export (with potential loss of precision).
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Strange Behavior with OpenCl

Post by Dade »

TAO wrote: Sun Jan 17, 2021 3:32 pm How can I found the exact size of the scene, and is this better to rescale the scene before render or the option you mention will do the same.
Because in 3dsmax the scene is 2m x 2m.
The .ply are created by you, the numbers written there are big, just check the object bounding boxes or try to just load the .ply inside Blender or 3DsMax if it supports that kind of format.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
User avatar
TAO
Developer
Developer
Posts: 851
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Strange Behavior with OpenCl

Post by TAO »

I try your solution and it works, in addition, I add the rescaling method so the scene from the 3dsmax scale in the metric system get matches the LuxCore scale factor. As I can see it has a huge impact on the results.
Post Reply