Issue with characteristics of a mesh to use as a volume domain

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
Forum rules
Please upload a testscene that allows developers to reproduce the problem, and attach some images.
Post Reply
Clockmaster77
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 9:26 am

Issue with characteristics of a mesh to use as a volume domain

Post by Clockmaster77 » Mon Sep 21, 2020 9:49 am

Hi, I am trying to set a simple cube, and also other simple meshes, as domains for smoke data or for auto step function in homogeneous and heterogeneous volume nodes. The picker simple doesn't accept the cube and the other meshes as domains. Not talking about more complex meshes.
Which are the characteristics of a volume domain mesh? I am missing something?

Moreover, once setted the smoke domain correctly, how I can use it to generate static volumetric objects?

P.S.: the same meshes works as open VDB files domains in Blender. I'm confused.

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 3874
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Issue with characteristics of a mesh to use as a volume domain

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Mon Sep 21, 2020 11:43 am

The domain needs to have a smoke modifier:
https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/BlendL ... oke.py#L17
https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/BlendL ... __.py#L457

Can you upload a small example file that demonstrates the issue? How are you loading the smoke data?
I guess the picker should include a check for something else, or be removed?

Clockmaster77
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 9:26 am

Re: Issue with characteristics of a mesh to use as a volume domain

Post by Clockmaster77 » Mon Sep 21, 2020 7:35 pm

Please excuse my incompetence with Python coding. How can I use these Python code into my Blender/LuxCoreRender setup?
Attached a simple setup where I used a .vdb file that I found on the Web. With VDB giles the domain works. I wish I could do the same with the unlinked (for now) smoke NODE.

I am very interested in what LuxCoreRender and Blender can achieve with volumetrics, so I wish I can learn how to use it properly.

I have attached a screenshot of my very primitive setup and the related blender file.
Thank You very much for your help
Attachments
SMOKE SETUP.jpg
Smoke Setup.blend
(757.5 KiB) Downloaded 14 times

Clockmaster77
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 9:26 am

Re: Issue with characteristics of a mesh to use as a volume domain

Post by Clockmaster77 » Mon Sep 21, 2020 8:31 pm

Very wrong setup (bad inputs), but much better results, in this VDB there is also a temperature value and I plug it into emission, obtaining something more realistic.
Attachments
SMOKE 2.jpg

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 3874
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Issue with characteristics of a mesh to use as a volume domain

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Tue Sep 22, 2020 12:48 am

We have the OpenVDB node for .vdb files, the smoke node is intended only for smoke simulations done in Blender (using the Blender smoke modifier).

Clockmaster77
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 9:26 am

Re: Issue with characteristics of a mesh to use as a volume domain

Post by Clockmaster77 » Tue Sep 22, 2020 7:12 am

Thanks 😊
I will set a simulation in blender and if I have other doubts I will reply here.
Bye

Clockmaster77
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 9:26 am

Re: Issue with characteristics of a mesh to use as a volume domain

Post by Clockmaster77 » Tue Sep 22, 2020 10:10 am

Hi! Just set up the smoke domain with a Blender smoke simulation, and all went ok. Very basic setup screenshot attached.
and the Flame, Heat, Temperature, Color, and Velocity input, where they can be plugged to obtain best effects? Maybe to a color ramp?
Thanks again and bye
Attachments
Smoke SETUP 3.jpg

Post Reply