MaxToLux - Autodesk 3ds Max Integration for LuxCoreRender

Discussion related to the LuxCore functionality, implementations and API.
User avatar
TAO
Developer
Developer
Posts: 851
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by TAO »

Here a few screenshots when i render a simple scene inside luxcoreui.

I can see the same issue with camera distance.
I have seen the same issue in other renderers and if it's the same issue there is something wrong with scene scale.
Annotation 2019-11-11 134335.jpg
Annotation 2019-11-11 134340.jpg
Without TONEMAP_AUTOLINEAR everything is so dark.
And some positions and numbers are too small i think.

Code: Select all

scene.camera.cliphither = 0.00100000005
scene.camera.clipyon = 1.00000002e+30
scene.camera.lookat.orig = -12.2475109 -12.2474308 9.99999237
scene.camera.lookat.target = 0 4.57763672e-05 7.62939453e-06
Another thing, I noticed when i use any type of image pipeline (any kind) render getting super slow compare to exact same scene without image pipeline even with just TONEMAP_AUTOLINEAR.
It might be just a unwanted loop ,i'll investigate the issue more.
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by Dade »

TAO wrote: Sun Nov 10, 2019 2:20 pm Yes about the color, i have some questions, please check the scene first.
Also if the camera changes the distance all light power will be effected and the renderer will get different results.
You have a problem every time you print an integer: it has "," separator for thousands, millions, etc. The "," must no be there or it will break a lot of stuff: all object ".id" fields, all .ply fields like "element vertex 1,020" and probably more.

Even if I fix by hand the ",", the scene you attached is this one:

Image

Not the one with the exposure problem you were talking about.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
User avatar
a1-kh
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2019 1:55 pm
Contact:

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by a1-kh »

TAO wrote: Sun Nov 10, 2019 1:11 pm Thank you so much a1-kh.

I'll going to send you new installer and with new features soo you can test and see if installer work correctlly.
Yeah sure i will be glad to test it, also i will try to post full renders of the scenes that you have provided us, with some technical details
User avatar
TAO
Developer
Developer
Posts: 851
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by TAO »

Hi, Dade.
Sorry to ask too many questions.
I create a scene as simple as possible, can you just take a look at it and tell me what's not right with it.
it drives me crazy.
Light or exposure will affect by camera distance.
Scene.zip
(10.62 KiB) Downloaded 151 times
0.jpg
1.jpg
2.jpg
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by Dade »

TAO wrote: Mon Nov 11, 2019 4:52 pm I create a scene as simple as possible, can you just take a look at it and tell me what's not right with it.
it drives me crazy.
Light or exposure will affect by camera distance.
I can replicate the problem here, at first sight doesn't make any sense, I'm checking what is going on.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by Dade »

Dade wrote: Mon Nov 11, 2019 5:32 pm I can replicate the problem here, at first sight doesn't make any sense, I'm checking what is going on.
Ok, I tracked what it is, you are not defining any image pipeline so the default is used:

Code: Select all

film.imagepipelines.0.0.type = TONEMAP_AUTOLINEAR
film.imagepipelines.0.1.type = GAMMA_CORRECTION
film.imagepipelines.0.1.value = 2.2
AUTOLINEAR will try to keep the average image intensity about at half so more you zoom out, less illuminated pixels there are, more AUTOLINEAR will increase the exposure to keep the image average brightness at half.

Note 1 => you are also using a nearly black point light:

Code: Select all

scene.lights.PointLight.type = "point"
scene.lights.PointLight.gain = 1 1 1
scene.lights.PointLight.color = 0.00392200006 0.00392200006 0.00392200006
scene.lights.PointLight.power = 1
scene.lights.PointLight.efficency = 1
The color is nearly black, that is quite strange. The light source has also 1 watt of power and efficiency of 1 (very low).

Note 2 => the scene is really huge, the camera is 150 meter away from the center.

Use this image pipeline definition:

Code: Select all

film.imagepipelines.0.0.type = TONEMAP_LINEAR
film.imagepipelines.0.0.scale = 1000.0
film.imagepipelines.0.1.type = GAMMA_CORRECTION
film.imagepipelines.0.1.value = 2.2
and a light definition more inline with the size of you scene:

Code: Select all

scene.lights.PointLight.type = "point"
scene.lights.PointLight.gain = 1 1 1
scene.lights.PointLight.color = 1 1 1
scene.lights.PointLight.power = 100000
scene.lights.PointLight.efficency = 17
Yes, you need that kind of power to light something of the size of a stadium with a single light source.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
Dexter
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2019 10:22 am

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by Dexter »

TAO wrote: Sun Mar 31, 2019 9:08 pm I manage to upgrade the project to work with new 3dsmax and visual studio, but all parameters change and most of the project is not usable.
Lights, camera, all shaders none of them work and it's crash most of the time, but the good news is i can compile the project and I'll fix issues in the near future.


Annotation 2019-04-01 013158.jpg
intensity not working, image is burn


Annotation 2019-04-01 013248.jpg
camera plugin cause and od issue in modifier


Annotation 2019-04-01 013313.jpg
renderer crash, almost on anything , material editor, render time, etc


Annotation 2019-04-01 014020.jpg
just one material appear and not even work


good news is renderer compiled and load in 3dsmax and mesh converter seems to work correctly (I hope).
:)
Hello
thank you for this great job.
I installed the version LuxCoreMax-v0.0.2. but I have this crash when I open the material editor.
Image
User avatar
TAO
Developer
Developer
Posts: 851
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2019 4:49 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by TAO »

Dexter wrote: Thu Nov 28, 2019 10:48 am Hello
thank you for this great job.
I installed the version LuxCoreMax-v0.0.2. but I have this crash when I open the material editor.
Hi, dexter.
Thank you for mention this issue.
I already add a few features and fix some issues, also update the installer and try to upload the source code too.
But before sending any new plugin can you change the material editor to default renderer or Lux renderer and see if the 3dsmax crash again.
Annotation 2019-11-28 145850.jpg
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3101
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by Sharlybg »

my friend have the same issue.

edit :
Oops (it is Dexter my ...... :mrgreen: )
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA
Dexter
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2019 10:22 am

Re: MaxLuxCore - 3ds Max Integration for LuxCore

Post by Dexter »

TAO wrote: Thu Nov 28, 2019 11:32 am
Dexter wrote: Thu Nov 28, 2019 10:48 am Hello
thank you for this great job.
I installed the version LuxCoreMax-v0.0.2. but I have this crash when I open the material editor.
Hi, dexter.
Thank you for mention this issue.
I already add a few features and fix some issues, also update the installer and try to upload the source code too.
But before sending any new plugin can you change the material editor to default renderer or Lux renderer and see if the 3dsmax crash again.
Annotation 2019-11-28 145850.jpg
After trying. it's always the same result. I still have the same crash when MaxLuxeCore is enabled in Material Editor.
when I put the default renderer I have no crash but I have this error message
Image
Post Reply