PhotonGI cache

Discussion related to the LuxCore functionality, implementations and API.
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Dade »

lacilaci wrote: Mon Mar 11, 2019 6:30 am I created small isolated case here:
00_concept_lux.zip

the small selected object with material+emission will completely ruin photongi unless you hide it or unplug emission :!:
Going to check what is going on.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
User avatar
FarbigeWelt
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1046
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 12:07 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by FarbigeWelt »

Dade wrote: Fri Mar 08, 2019 1:24 pm
So it will not be totally off but also not so accurate in this case.
lacilaci wrote: Fri Mar 08, 2019 1:16 pm 2. What are those ray differentials ?
It is this stuff https://graphics.stanford.edu/papers/trd/
Dade, did you notice follow?

Code: Select all

intern/cycles/kernel/svm/svm_displace.h
ccl_device void svm_node_set_bump(KernelGlobals *kg, ShaderData *sd, float *stack, uint4 node)
{
#ifdef __RAY_DIFFERENTIALS__ ...
Light and Word designing Creator - www.farbigewelt.ch - aka quantenkristall || #luxcorerender
MacBook Air with M1
kintuX
Posts: 809
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:37 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by kintuX »

Dade wrote: Mon Mar 11, 2019 11:49 am Going to check what is going on.
I suspect the large span between light intensities (precision issue? ie. Sun&Sky VS Candle light) combined with "Automatic Lookup Radius" (too small or not enough photons?), since after values get balanced & Radius is set manually, debug result looks like:
pff.jpg
marcatore
Donor
Donor
Posts: 463
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 8:04 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by marcatore »

could you post the final image with that kind of lighting setup?
kintuX
Posts: 809
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:37 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by kintuX »

marcatore wrote: Mon Mar 11, 2019 1:07 pm could you post the final image with that kind of lighting setup?
Here, done in 120seconds (502 samples):
Buhbuh.jpg
PS
above had HDRI instead of "Clear White Sky" :roll:
Here's another in 120sec (499 samples):
Bah.jpg
PPS
Notice bad settings worsen performance :P
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Dade »

FarbigeWelt wrote: Mon Mar 11, 2019 12:59 pm Dade, did you notice follow?

Code: Select all

intern/cycles/kernel/svm/svm_displace.h
ccl_device void svm_node_set_bump(KernelGlobals *kg, ShaderData *sd, float *stack, uint4 node)
{
#ifdef __RAY_DIFFERENTIALS__ ...
What do you mean ?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
Fox
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:17 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Fox »

kintuX wrote: Mon Mar 11, 2019 1:01 pm I suspect the large span between light intensities (precision issue? ie. Sun&Sky VS Candle light) combined with "Automatic Lookup Radius" (too small or not enough photons?), since after values get balanced & Radius is set manually, debug result looks like:
pff.jpg
Can you get your scene to crash with manual too small radius?
I was able to use 0.001, but not well below this, and 0.01 radius is way better covered. In my case the auto radius is most likely tuning in too small radius when rendering high res like 6000 x 4500 pix, auto is crashing every time like manual radius 0.0001. Radius 0.01 already gives me map size of 8% with maximum number of photons.
User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1969
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by lacilaci »

It looks like instead of addition, new cache entries from different lightsources are replacing old ones.
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Dade »

lacilaci wrote: Mon Mar 11, 2019 6:30 am I created small isolated case here:
00_concept_lux.zip

the small selected object with material+emission will completely ruin photongi unless you hide it or unplug emission :!:
I'm trying the scene but I get the right output out of the box:

img1.jpg

Should I change something ?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1969
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by lacilaci »

Dade wrote: Mon Mar 11, 2019 3:05 pm
lacilaci wrote: Mon Mar 11, 2019 6:30 am I created small isolated case here:
00_concept_lux.zip

the small selected object with material+emission will completely ruin photongi unless you hide it or unplug emission :!:
I'm trying the scene but I get the right output out of the box:


img1.jpg


Should I change something ?
I'll try redownload latest daily so I'm sure.
Post Reply