LuxCoreRender v2.0alpha6 released

News & Announcements regarding releases, features, exporters and project coordination.
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 1538
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm

LuxCoreRender v2.0alpha6 released

Post by Dade » Tue Mar 06, 2018 5:58 pm

New LuxCoreRender v2.0alpha6 release is available at: https://luxcorerender.org/download

v2.0 release notes are available here: https://wiki.luxcorerender.org/LuxCoreR ... Notes_v2.0

The complete list of changes between alpha5 and alpha6 in Luxcore API is available here: https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/LuxCor ... v2.0alpha6

The complete list of changes between alpha5 and alpha6 in BlendLuxCore is available here: https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/BlendL ... v2.0alpha6

This version includes the fix of some crashes, sphere light source, Blender render layer support and material preview (I think, B.Y.O.B. :?: ).
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1825
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0alpha6 released

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Tue Mar 06, 2018 6:09 pm

Dade wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 5:58 pm
This version include the fix of some crashes, sphere light source, Blender render layer support and material preview
Yes. Also:
- Added a bunch of imagepipeline plugins (vignetting, mist, color aberration, irradiance/contours etc.)
- Fixed some rare issues with border rendering
- Added UV mapping rotation
- Much faster final render updates (film refreshes)
- IOR support for glossy2 (people will celebrate I guess)
- Fixed an age-old bug in camera DoF object handling, leading to issues if e.g. the camera was parented to some object
- Added support for material ID
- Added drawing handler that shows the point light sphere radius in the 3D view (OpenGL)
- Fixed this bug: https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/BlendLuxCore/issues/69

And a lot of smaller stuff that's not really worth mentioning, you can read the commit messages linked above if you want to know it all ;)
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
Sharlybg
Supporting Users
Posts: 885
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0alpha6 released

Post by Sharlybg » Tue Mar 06, 2018 6:43 pm

Thanks for the hard work great job !
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

david57
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 11:30 pm

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0alpha6 released

Post by david57 » Tue Mar 06, 2018 7:09 pm

Thank you...

User avatar
Sharlybg
Supporting Users
Posts: 885
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0alpha6 released

Post by Sharlybg » Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:12 pm

Note that even if the download comment say alpha 5 you can still download it as the link refer to alpha 06.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1825
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0alpha6 released

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:07 pm

I updated the titles.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

kintuX
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 2:37 am

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0alpha6 released

Post by kintuX » Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:34 pm

Thank you.

Win7, b2.79a, LC2a6
First couple of mishaps or bugs (New scene, Cube+Sun+Sky+Camera):

1. Update OpenCL device list doesn't work (no action performed, empty console).
/ f12

Code: Select all

Unknown render engine type in RenderEngine::FromProperties(): PATHOCL
2. Halt Conditions duplicated? (1. in Render, 2. in Render Layers)

3. Mist causing jagged edges with 'Exclude Background' is that ok?

4. Clamp Output causes horizontal lines in Display & some kind of dotted artifacts. Which keep appearing after clamp is disabled.

No OCL render means i couldn't test if 'Build Visibility Map' is fine now.
Late now... will continue tomorrow.
Otherwise, feels much better, great response time. Smooth. Thanks again...

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1825
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0alpha6 released

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Wed Mar 07, 2018 7:12 am

kintuX wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:34 pm
1. Update OpenCL device list doesn't work (no action performed, empty console).
Make sure you have an OpenCL build.
Maybe you should open an issue/thread for this so we can investigate further.
kintuX wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:34 pm
2. Halt Conditions duplicated? (1. in Render, 2. in Render Layers)
The halt conditions of a render layer override the global halt conditions.
kintuX wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:34 pm
3. Mist causing jagged edges with 'Exclude Background' is that ok?
This is a limitation of the Depth-AOV (it is not anti-aliased).
I recommend not to use such a strong mist that it becomes obvious, only use it for light aerial perspective in the distance (1-2km) in open scenes.
I think we could add an extra "Mist" AOV with AA but that seems like overkill for a fake-plugin that will be rarely used anyway (at least I think that).
kintuX wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:34 pm
4. Clamp Output causes horizontal lines in Display & some kind of dotted artifacts. Which keep appearing after clamp is disabled.
Please upload a test scene and open an issue/thread.
kintuX wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:34 pm
No OCL render means i couldn't test if 'Build Visibility Map' is fine now.
I don't think the visibility map needs OpenCL.

Thanks for your feedback :)
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Stem
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:58 am

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0alpha6 released

Post by Stem » Wed Mar 07, 2018 7:38 am

Have downloaded and tried both windows builds (just in case naming of builds was incorrect), nither will update/show devices, so cannot render with openCL. (alpha5 was OK)

marcatore
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 8:04 am

Re: LuxCoreRender v2.0alpha6 released

Post by marcatore » Wed Mar 07, 2018 8:10 am

the same here.
The openCl doesn't recognize any devices.
Alpha5 was OK

Post Reply