BlendLuxCore Development

Discussion related to the LuxCore functionality, implementations and API.
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3101
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by Sharlybg »

Yes it's something I wanted to do for a very long time.
Can we also expect that update directly inside blender addon manager will update both blendluxcore and luxcore ?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. »

Can we also expect that update directly inside blender addon manager will update both blendluxcore and luxcore ?
Umm yes everything else would be stupid, right?
But the auto update button is still far away.

@Dade: I'm trying to use SetFromString() on a properties object, but it's failing with

Code: Select all

RuntimeError: Syntax error in a Properties at line 2
Can you tell me what's wrong?
My Python code:

Code: Select all

    props = pyluxcore.Properties()
    props.SetFromString("""
        # The slight offset is there to avoid floating point precision issues
        # with objects that are exactly at world center, e.g. "cube on a plane scene"
        
        # Dark subgrid (10cm blocks)
        scene.textures.grid_10cm_1.type = "checkerboard3d"
        scene.textures.grid_10cm_1.texture1 = 0.3 0.3 0.3
        scene.textures.grid_10cm_1.texture2 = 0.4 0.4 0.4
        scene.textures.grid_10cm_1.mapping.type = "globalmapping3d"
        scene.textures.grid_10cm_1.mapping.transformation = 10 0 0 0 0 10 0 0 0 0 10 0 0.001 0.001 0.001 1
        
        # Light subgrid (10cm blocks)
        scene.textures.grid_10cm_2.type = "checkerboard3d"
        scene.textures.grid_10cm_2.texture1 = 0.4 0.4 0.4
        scene.textures.grid_10cm_2.texture2 = 0.5 0.5 0.5
        scene.textures.grid_10cm_2.mapping.type = "globalmapping3d"
        scene.textures.grid_10cm_2.mapping.transformation = 10 0 0 0 0 10 0 0 0 0 10 0 0.001 0.001 0.001 1
        
        # Big grid (1m blocks)
        scene.textures.grid_1m.type = "checkerboard3d"
        scene.textures.grid_1m.texture1 = "grid_10cm_1"
        scene.textures.grid_1m.texture2 = "grid_10cm_2"
        scene.textures.grid_1m.mapping.type = "globalmapping3d"
        scene.textures.grid_1m.mapping.transformation = 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0.001 0.001 0.001 1
        
        # Material
        scene.materials.{mat_name}.type = "matte"
        scene.materials.{mat_name}.kd = grid_1m
    """.format(mat_name=luxcore_name))
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by Dade »

B.Y.O.B. wrote: Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:12 pm @Dade: I'm trying to use SetFromString() on a properties object, but it's failing with

Code: Select all

RuntimeError: Syntax error in a Properties at line 2
The spaces/tabs before the "#' char. Comments must have a "#" as first char of the line at the moment. I will add a trim() to let the parser be a bit more flexible. In the mean team, just remove the spaces/tabs as workaround.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. »

Ok thanks!

New fallback material for objects without material:
Attachments
untitled.jpg
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3101
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by Sharlybg »

After playing a bit arround i think the new light/world setting are a bit too confusing :? .

#1 Now we need to control sun separetly from sky in two defferent panel it can easily lead to lighting error scenario and misunderstanding

#2 I also think like in the past that the possibility for luxcore to set HDRi map by Hemi Lamp was far better than cycles generic HDR. It give great flexibility and simplicity. you can have many different hdri (day /night /cloudy) in your scene and easily manage them using layers or on/off gain individually. And now the fact to have a generic HDR system in world panel can add confusion. i've already work for hours with defferent HDR map in the same system without noticed it :lol:

I think old system was just rigth, maybe we can improve it but it is a good base. just suggestion this how i feel it.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. »

Thanks for your feedback, I'll think about it.
Sharlybg wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:26 pm #2 I also think like in the past that the possibility for luxcore to set HDRi map by Hemi Lamp was far better than cycles generic HDR. It give great flexibility and simplicity. you can have many different hdri (day /night /cloudy) in your scene and easily manage them using layers or on/off gain individually.
You can still do that. Set the world light to "None" and only use hemi lamps with HDRI.
Sharlybg wrote: Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:26 pm And now the fact to have a generic HDR system in world panel can add confusion. i've already work for hours with defferent HDR map in the same system without noticed it
I had something similar happen to me, too. The world and light controls just look very alike.
Have to think about if I can improve this somehow.
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3101
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by Sharlybg »

You can still do that. Set the world light to "None" and only use hemi lamps with HDRI.
This is the problem, world light have to be set to none first and the additional gymnastic add unnecessary potential confusion.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by Dade »

B.Y.O.B. wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2018 12:00 pm It was one of them.
Now only one is left I think:

I have a scene where a camera and a green sphere are moving at equal speed to the left.
In the background are some white cubes on a red plane.
I use both camera and object motion blur.

When I use shutter = 1.0, everything works as expected (green sphere is sharp because it has equal speed with camera, background is blurred).
But when I use any other shutter value, the green sphere is blurred as well.
Dade wrote: Sun Jan 14, 2018 2:35 pm I should have fixed the problem (pull both LuxCore and BlendLuxCore).
Did I ?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
acasta69
Developer
Developer
Posts: 472
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:45 pm
Location: Italy

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by acasta69 »

Just a thought: what do you think about increasing the statistics available in the render window once the render is stopped (if it is possible without too much work)?
During render we can see a lot of data, but after stopping we are left with memory usage and time.
For example the number of samples per pixel could also be nice to know, especially if time has been used as a halt condition...
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Windows 10 64 bits, i7-4770 3.4 GHz, RAM 16 GB, GTX 970 4GB v445.87
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4146
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: BlendLuxCore Development

Post by B.Y.O.B. »

I would love to, but as far as I know Blender does not let us do this.
However, maybe we can later find a workaround, e.g. have a panel similar to the error log.
I would also like to have one of these info blocks for each rendered image slot, for better comparisons.
As always: if you don't want me to forget about it, make a github issue.

by the way, related, sadly was not implemented yet: https://developer.blender.org/T49101
Post Reply