PhotonGI cache

Discussion related to the LuxCore functionality, implementations and API.
epilectrolytics
Donor
Donor
Posts: 790
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 6:06 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by epilectrolytics »

Dade wrote: Wed Mar 13, 2019 4:24 pm The look up radius must be smaller of half of the door depth.
Ah yes, now I remember when this was discussed back in this thread!
And it works great, thanks Dade!
door2.jpg
Fox
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:17 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Fox »

How do i use this:

Code: Select all

path.photongi.indirect.haltthreshold = 1.0
Every time it stops at:

Code: Select all

path.photongi.photon.maxcount
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Dade »

Fox wrote: Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:33 pm How do i use this:

Code: Select all

path.photongi.indirect.haltthreshold = 1.0
It is a number between 0.0 and 1.0 where:

- 0.0 => 0% (never possible, always reach the max. photon count)
- 1.0 => 100% (always true, stop after the first bucket of photons)
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
Fox
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:17 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Fox »

Can it be done so it will go over the bucket :D until the % is reached?
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Dade »

Fox wrote: Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:21 pm Can it be done so it will go over the bucket :D until the % is reached?
Just use a very high max. photon count :?:
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
Fox
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:17 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Fox »

Dade wrote: Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:35 pm Just use a very high max. photon count :?:
Okay, maybe together with very high value of that path.photongi.indirect.usagethresholdscale
it will be fine.
---------
EDIT
Seems like when using maximum value, it continues shooting photons.

Code: Select all

[LuxCore][10600.391] PhotonGI Cache photon traced: 4294729728/4294967295 [100.0%, 411.9M photons/sec, Map sizes (42.5%, 0.1%)]
[LuxCore][10602.500] PhotonGI Cache photon traced: 655360/4294967295 [0.0%, 0.1M photons/sec, Map sizes (42.5%, 0.1%)]
User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3101
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Sharlybg »

Dade wrote: Wed Mar 13, 2019 4:24 pm
epilectrolytics wrote: Wed Mar 13, 2019 2:25 pm Did I do something wrong modeling the door or is it a PGI issue?
The look up radius must be smaller of half of the door depth. So specify the radius by hand to a value like 1cm. To balance the very small radius you have also to scale back the brute force parameter (so from 6 to something like 6 * 15 = 90). And you get the correct result:


RGB_IMAGEPIPELINE_0.jpg
Can such kind of things be automated ?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Dade »

Sharlybg wrote: Thu Mar 14, 2019 7:56 am Can such kind of things be automated ?
Not really, without an absurd amount of pre-processing to catch the "radius greater than some (important) geometry feature" problem.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 5672
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Dade »

Fox wrote: Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:40 pm EDIT
Seems like when using maximum value, it continues shooting photons.

Code: Select all

[LuxCore][10600.391] PhotonGI Cache photon traced: 4294729728/4294967295 [100.0%, 411.9M photons/sec, Map sizes (42.5%, 0.1%)]
[LuxCore][10602.500] PhotonGI Cache photon traced: 655360/4294967295 [0.0%, 0.1M photons/sec, Map sizes (42.5%, 0.1%)]
You can not use 2^32 as input otherwise 32bit integers will overflow at first computation, use 2^31 if you really need to use an absurdly high value.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties
Fox
Posts: 437
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:17 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Fox »

Dade wrote: Thu Mar 14, 2019 10:09 am You can not use 2^32 as input otherwise 32bit integers will overflow at first computation, use 2^31 if you really need to use an absurdly high value.
Looks like it must have gone 3'rd or 4'th time back to 0 with 2^32 photons. 1'st time map size was 0.1%, now it's 0.8% and memory use is 123GB :lol:
PhotonGI Memory Use.png
---------
EDIT
Yes the 2^31 worked.
Post Reply