Wireframe texture

Discussion related to the LuxCore functionality, implementations and API.
User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 4032
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Wireframe texture

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Sun Jan 17, 2021 3:51 pm

I'll look into it when I'm back at my PC in 1-2 weeks.

juangea
Donor
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2020 6:23 pm

Re: Wireframe texture

Post by juangea » Mon Jan 18, 2021 11:13 pm

B.Y.O.B. I miss you :"""(

XD

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 4032
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Wireframe texture

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Tue Jan 26, 2021 2:18 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Sun Jan 17, 2021 3:51 pm
I'll look into it when I'm back at my PC in 1-2 weeks.
I have implemented the "hide planar edges" feature.

JulianoLisboa
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 3:29 am

Re: Wireframe texture

Post by JulianoLisboa » Tue Jan 26, 2021 8:35 pm

There is something wrong with this implementation, when hiding the planar edges the rendering takes twice as long and the model has the wrong wireframe, as shown below.
What I imagined was that the diagonal lines would disappear, leaving only squares.


planar hide enabled
wireframe_hide_planar.jpg
hide planar disabled
wireframe_planar.jpg

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 5115
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Wireframe texture

Post by Dade » Tue Jan 26, 2021 10:22 pm

JulianoLisboa wrote:
Tue Jan 26, 2021 8:35 pm
What I imagined was that the diagonal lines would disappear, leaving only squares.
Nope, it depends on the angle between the two triangles, if it is over or under the threshold. Two triangles are considered coplanar only if the angle between them very small.

Do you have wires over something you consider planar ? Try to post a test scene (may be just the cube) if you have a problem.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

JulianoLisboa
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 3:29 am

Re: Wireframe texture

Post by JulianoLisboa » Wed Jan 27, 2021 12:33 pm

Dade wrote:
Tue Jan 26, 2021 10:22 pm
JulianoLisboa wrote:
Tue Jan 26, 2021 8:35 pm
What I imagined was that the diagonal lines would disappear, leaving only squares.
Nope, it depends on the angle between the two triangles, if it is over or under the threshold. Two triangles are considered coplanar only if the angle between them very small.

Do you have wires over something you consider planar ? Try to post a test scene (may be just the cube) if you have a problem.
Hello Dade, so as I am an end user, I will try to explain the need for wireframe. A customer asks us for a 3d model of a product, when we deliver it is part of the sales pitch to prove that it is not a photo, although it looks a lot like one. Then we show the wireframe and the client then realizes that that ultra-realistic photo is actually CGI, that values the work.

Well, as I used 3ds Max + Corona, creating a quad wireframe shader, without triangulations, is very simple. I expected to find something similar in Blender. I am in love with Luxcore, a great defender of him in Brazilian 3d groups, but some things need to be adjusted and the wireframe is one of them. Luxcore is perfect for Archviz and Packshot products, mainly because of its glass and caustics.

Following images of the tests.

We can see that in more complex models the hide planar wireframe does not work well, if applying shade smooth then it makes everything worse.

wireframe hide planar off
wireframe hide planar off.png
wireframe hide planar on
wireframe hide planar on.png
shade smooth all objects
shade smooth all objects.png
Regards,

Juliano Lisboa

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 5115
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Wireframe texture

Post by Dade » Wed Jan 27, 2021 3:13 pm

JulianoLisboa wrote:
Wed Jan 27, 2021 12:33 pm
We can see that in more complex models the hide planar wireframe does not work well, if applying shade smooth then it makes everything worse.

wireframe hide planar off
wireframe hide planar off.png

wireframe hide planar on
wireframe hide planar on.png

shade smooth all objects
shade smooth all objects.png
You should post also how you would like it to look because, for what I see, "wireframe hide planar on" works exactly how is expected to work.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

JulianoLisboa
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 3:29 am

Re: Wireframe texture

Post by JulianoLisboa » Wed Jan 27, 2021 5:21 pm

Everything OK my friend. here's an example of what you would like if possible.

And in the corona I can add shade smooth and Subdivision surface that will be right. What I can't do at Luxcore.

Luxcore
luxcore.png
Example
wireframe.png
Corona Shader config
wireframe_corona.png

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 5115
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Wireframe texture

Post by Dade » Wed Jan 27, 2021 8:09 pm

JulianoLisboa wrote:
Wed Jan 27, 2021 5:21 pm
Everything OK my friend. here's an example of what you would like if possible.

And in the corona I can add shade smooth and Subdivision surface that will be right. What I can't do at Luxcore.
This is something can only be done at BlendLuxCore level because, for the time LuxCore receives the mesh, it has already been tessellated in triangles and any previous information about where the mesh coming from is not included.

I'm not even sure it is possible win BlendLuxcore: it may be possible if the mesh is coming from a parametric surface like a NURBS but it may be not if it is just a generic triangle mesh.

Was the Corona rendering done using Blender or something like 3DsMax ?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

JulianoLisboa
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 3:29 am

Re: Wireframe texture

Post by JulianoLisboa » Wed Jan 27, 2021 8:27 pm

Dade wrote:
Wed Jan 27, 2021 8:09 pm
JulianoLisboa wrote:
Wed Jan 27, 2021 5:21 pm
Everything OK my friend. here's an example of what you would like if possible.

And in the corona I can add shade smooth and Subdivision surface that will be right. What I can't do at Luxcore.
This is something can only be done at BlendLuxCore level because, for the time LuxCore receives the mesh, it has already been tessellated in triangles and any previous information about where the mesh coming from is not included.

I'm not even sure it is possible win BlendLuxcore: it may be possible if the mesh is coming from a parametric surface like a NURBS but it may be not if it is just a generic triangle mesh.

Was the Corona rendering done using Blender or something like 3DsMax ?
Yes, 3ds Max was used

Post Reply