Optix/RTX support

Discussion related to the LuxCore functionality, implementations and API.
User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 4489
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Optix/RTX support

Post by Dade » Tue Jul 21, 2020 11:51 am

Optix/RTX has the nice side effect of requiring quite some less GPU memory for the same geometry data.

This is a rendering with 60+ millions of triangles without Optix/RTX (i.e. CUDA-only):

bvh.jpg

and this with Optix/RTX (i.e. CUDA + Optix/RTX):

optix.jpg

Note how Optix uses nearly 40% less GPU memory (4.4GB Vs 6.0GB).
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Posts: 2145
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: Optix/RTX support

Post by Sharlybg » Tue Jul 21, 2020 12:42 pm

Note how Optix uses nearly 40% less GPU memory (4.4GB Vs 6.0GB).
that is impressive. does it scale linearly ?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 4489
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Optix/RTX support

Post by Dade » Tue Jul 21, 2020 2:27 pm

Sharlybg wrote:
Tue Jul 21, 2020 12:42 pm
Note how Optix uses nearly 40% less GPU memory (4.4GB Vs 6.0GB).
that is impressive. does it scale linearly ?
Yes, it looks about linear with the number of triangles (and BVH nodes).
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Posts: 2145
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: Optix/RTX support

Post by Sharlybg » Tue Jul 21, 2020 6:14 pm

Yes, it looks about linear with the number of triangles (and BVH nodes).
2.5 will going to be a monster. Going to joke with people again with some tasty benchmark. :D
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Posts: 2145
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: Optix/RTX support

Post by Sharlybg » Tue Jul 21, 2020 6:15 pm

When will 2.5 build available for test ?
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 4489
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Optix/RTX support

Post by Dade » Tue Jul 21, 2020 6:43 pm

Sharlybg wrote:
Tue Jul 21, 2020 6:15 pm
When will 2.5 build available for test ?
It is already if you know how to download artifacts from Azure but, anyway, the v2.5 branch will be merged with main one soon after the v2.4 release.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

bestman8
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2020 6:45 pm

Re: Optix/RTX support

Post by bestman8 » Sat Jul 25, 2020 6:51 pm

will this also be for gtx gpus for like a gtx1660 or gtx1080 or will this be rtx only and if rtx only does it not have any speed improvements for a gtx gpu or is that more work to make?

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 4489
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Optix/RTX support

Post by Dade » Sat Jul 25, 2020 7:00 pm

bestman8 wrote:
Sat Jul 25, 2020 6:51 pm
will this also be for gtx gpus for like a gtx1660 or gtx1080 or will this be rtx only and if rtx only does it not have any speed improvements for a gtx gpu or is that more work to make?
I'm not sure about the GTX1660 but the GTX1080 should definitively work, it should also be a bit faster than our current ray tracing code, even without hardware RTX.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 4489
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Optix/RTX support

Post by Dade » Tue Jul 28, 2020 4:08 pm

It is now possible to disable Optix (even if it is enabled and available) with the property:

Code: Select all

context.cuda.optix.enable = 0
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Posts: 2145
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: Optix/RTX support

Post by Sharlybg » Tue Jul 28, 2020 4:21 pm

Dade wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 4:08 pm
It is now possible to disable Optix (even if it is enabled and available) with the property:

Code: Select all

context.cuda.optix.enable = 0
Is it normal to not see optix in the first alpha build of blendluxcore. i know you said it is enable by default.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

Post Reply