Page 1 of 1

Fixing Intel HD 5000 Iris Pro on Macbook

Posted: Sat May 09, 2020 1:31 pm
by u3dreal
Iris Pro seems to work fine in 2.2release. not really.

What does it mean if the cornell renders fine and the luxball gives an abort trap ?
Are the kernels compiled only with the stuff needed ? eg If a scene has no textures the texture stuff will not be compiled along ?
meaning there could be something wrong in the texture code then ?

Re: Fixing Intel HD 5000 Iris Pro on Macbook

Posted: Sat May 09, 2020 4:10 pm
by Dade
u3dreal wrote: Sat May 09, 2020 1:31 pm Iris Pro seems to work fine in 2.2release. not really.

What does it mean if the cornell renders fine and the luxball gives an abort trap ?
Are the kernels compiled only with the stuff needed ? eg If a scene has no textures the texture stuff will not be compiled along ?
Yes, it is conditional compilation. v2.2 was full conditional compilation, v2.3 was hybrid, v2.4 has no conditional compilation at all.
u3dreal wrote: Sat May 09, 2020 1:31 pm meaning there could be something wrong in the texture code then ?
No, it is the OpenCL drivers to be broken and the hardware to be very limited: on Windows/Linux we don't touch Intel "GPUs", not even with a 2 meters long stick. They are explicitly avoided by BlendLuxCore.

Re: Fixing Intel HD 5000 Iris Pro on Macbook

Posted: Sat May 09, 2020 10:41 pm
by Sharlybg
Windows/Linux we don't touch Intel "GPUs", not even with a 2 meters long stick. They are explicitly avoided by BlendLuxCore.
:lol:

Re: Fixing Intel HD 5000 Iris Pro on Macbook

Posted: Sun May 10, 2020 10:44 am
by u3dreal
OK I'll put away the stick :) :lol:

Re: Fixing Intel HD 5000 Iris Pro on Macbook

Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2020 12:38 pm
by u3dreal
I would suggest we finally disable Iris for good.

https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/LuxCore/issues/481

Some users get set up when their harddrives are filling up and the Umbrella keeps spinning.

@B.Y.O.B
Would that be done in BlendLuxCore ? I remember us talking about that.

Re: Fixing Intel HD 5000 Iris Pro on Macbook

Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2020 1:13 pm
by B.Y.O.B.
BlendLuxCore disables all GPU devices with "intel" in their name by default: https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/BlendL ... ces.py#L36
I think this should work for the Iris Pro GPU, unless there's no "intel" in the reported name?

The user in the issue you linked is using LuxCore standalone however, not the Blender addon, so it doesn't apply there. He will have to disable it with the OpenCL device selection string, and set film.opencl.enable = 0.

Re: Fixing Intel HD 5000 Iris Pro on Macbook

Posted: Mon Dec 14, 2020 1:39 pm
by u3dreal
Ah OK yes with standalone you always get the compile error since all files state

Code: Select all

opencl.devices.select = 01
To get around this one has to use

Code: Select all

opencl.devices.select = 001
since there are 3 OCL devices. On normal PCs there are usually only two.

film.opencl strangely enough works with Iris Pro. Well at least it does something then.