Fixing Intel HD 5000 Iris Pro on Macbook

Discussion related to the LuxCore functionality, implementations and API.
Post Reply
User avatar
u3dreal
Developer
Posts: 428
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 3:23 pm
Location: Ulm
Contact:

Fixing Intel HD 5000 Iris Pro on Macbook

Post by u3dreal » Sat May 09, 2020 1:31 pm

Iris Pro seems to work fine in 2.2release. not really.

What does it mean if the cornell renders fine and the luxball gives an abort trap ?
Are the kernels compiled only with the stuff needed ? eg If a scene has no textures the texture stuff will not be compiled along ?
meaning there could be something wrong in the texture code then ?
check out my newest stuff http://q3de.com/research/
portfolio http://q3de.com/


MB Pro i7 2.3Ghz, IrisPro 1.5GB, GTX750m 2GB - High Sierra
Xeon X5650@4Ghz, 2x GTX 770 Phantom RX 5700 - Catalina / High Sierra, Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 4817
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Fixing Intel HD 5000 Iris Pro on Macbook

Post by Dade » Sat May 09, 2020 4:10 pm

u3dreal wrote:
Sat May 09, 2020 1:31 pm
Iris Pro seems to work fine in 2.2release. not really.

What does it mean if the cornell renders fine and the luxball gives an abort trap ?
Are the kernels compiled only with the stuff needed ? eg If a scene has no textures the texture stuff will not be compiled along ?
Yes, it is conditional compilation. v2.2 was full conditional compilation, v2.3 was hybrid, v2.4 has no conditional compilation at all.
u3dreal wrote:
Sat May 09, 2020 1:31 pm
meaning there could be something wrong in the texture code then ?
No, it is the OpenCL drivers to be broken and the hardware to be very limited: on Windows/Linux we don't touch Intel "GPUs", not even with a 2 meters long stick. They are explicitly avoided by BlendLuxCore.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Posts: 2483
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: Fixing Intel HD 5000 Iris Pro on Macbook

Post by Sharlybg » Sat May 09, 2020 10:41 pm

Windows/Linux we don't touch Intel "GPUs", not even with a 2 meters long stick. They are explicitly avoided by BlendLuxCore.
:lol:
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
u3dreal
Developer
Posts: 428
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 3:23 pm
Location: Ulm
Contact:

Re: Fixing Intel HD 5000 Iris Pro on Macbook

Post by u3dreal » Sun May 10, 2020 10:44 am

OK I'll put away the stick :) :lol:
check out my newest stuff http://q3de.com/research/
portfolio http://q3de.com/


MB Pro i7 2.3Ghz, IrisPro 1.5GB, GTX750m 2GB - High Sierra
Xeon X5650@4Ghz, 2x GTX 770 Phantom RX 5700 - Catalina / High Sierra, Windows 10, Ubuntu 18.04

Post Reply