Page 1 of 1

Static Noise in LuxCore

Posted: Thu Dec 26, 2019 11:55 pm
by plasmapeppers
Would it be possible to have static OpenCL noise in LuxCore? This would be a huge advantage for denoising. Examples from an engine that has static noise as an option for GPU rendering are attached in the zip, forum wouldn't let me upload MP4s. This makes rendering so much faster since the flickering due to denoise doesn't manifest and as such samples can be set to be very low.

Re: Static Noise in LuxCore

Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 10:58 am
by Dade
plasmapeppers wrote:
Thu Dec 26, 2019 11:55 pm
Would it be possible to have static OpenCL noise in LuxCore? This would be a huge advantage for denoising. Examples from an engine that has static noise as an option for GPU rendering are attached in the zip, forum wouldn't let me upload MP4s. This makes rendering so much faster since the flickering due to denoise doesn't manifest and as such samples can be set to be very low.
LuxCoreRender is not even deterministic: if you do 2 times the same rendering, you will not obtain exactly (from the numerical point of view) the same result. This is due to the "loose" parallelism (for maximum performance) and the not commutative nature of most floating point operations (i.e. the result of A+B+C can be different from A+C+B).

I understand the advantages of static noise but it may be a not trivial feature to implement. It is a topic to look into and investigate (at the moment I'm not even sure if it can be implemented with a reasonable amount of work :?: ).