PhotonGI cache

Discussion related to the Engine functionality, implementations and API.
marcatore
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2018 8:04 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by marcatore » Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:58 pm

Dade wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:37 pm
A new code using regular visibility points:


new.jpg


The light intensity is a lot more uniform and smooth, thanks to the uniform distribution the cache look up is also 2 times faster (check the samples/sec) and independent from number of photon traced or look up radius. The pre-processing is also a lot faster.

P.S. this starts to looks exactly like a V-Ray output...
yes...it's really really similar to Vray Lightcache!!!

Good job.

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1429
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Sharlybg » Mon Feb 11, 2019 3:27 pm

Historical moment ! Very nice Dade ;)
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1429
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Sharlybg » Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:19 pm

Yes same as Vray 3.6.

Luxcore

Image

Vray

Image
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2770
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by Dade » Mon Feb 11, 2019 10:46 pm

This thing work really well ... I mean R E A L L Y:

- reduces the number of parameters;
- reduced the amount of ram used (it is pretty much constant and not based on the number of photons you trace !);
- makes the pre-processing a LOT faster;
- makes the rendering a LOT faster;

This is a a debug view of indirect cache:

map.jpg

and this is a 60 seconds rendering:

60.jpg

Add the denoiser and it is done. Not only it is fast but the quality of light is so good.

I have pushed this patch. It affects only the indirect cache, I will now check if I can use a similar solution for the caustic cache. A lot of parameters have been removed/changed so I'm not sure if it can work well with the not yet updated BlendLuxCore.

P.S. this thing on GPUs...
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2809
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:30 pm

Awesome!
By the way, do you know why those two wall panels are black in the cache? I noticed something similar in a testscene as well, some surface just being black even when using a matte material and after checking for double vertices and twisted normals.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
alpistinho
Developer
Developer
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 11:38 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by alpistinho » Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:58 pm

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 11:30 pm
Awesome!
By the way, do you know why those two wall panels are black in the cache? I noticed something similar in a testscene as well, some surface just being black even when using a matte material and after checking for double vertices and twisted normals.
Looking closely around that panels the two curved things around them are different between the two sides. The one in the right seems to have been included in the cache, while the one in the left does not.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2809
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:07 am

I have updated the Blender addon with the latest property changes.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1329
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by lacilaci » Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:53 am

Are all shaders supported now?

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1329
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by lacilaci » Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:47 am

Oh, this is really fast now. Default numbers I think are a bit low.

But I still get weake light in GI (using same depth for photons as for GI)

cache
cache.jpg
no cache
nocache.jpg

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1329
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: PhotonGI cache

Post by lacilaci » Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:03 am

also, sometimes high power samples are still showing through
more cache, larger lookup, clamping, nothing helps!
Edit: Actually if I make lookup really big(40cm) then it's ok
But it takes some trial and error figuring out proper value for scene...
samples_denoise.jpg
samples_noise.jpg
Rendering is so fast now that it can be easily used for some hardcore viz even on cpu, on gpu we'll have like 1 minute renders :D

Post Reply