Page 1 of 2

PointLamp vs Constraint

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:08 pm
by S0rda
Hey. Please explain one thing. I use the Point light source, which should follow or be at a given distance from the object. However, when I use the limiter for a given light source, and adjust the size of the lamp, it’s as if the lamp is split and I get the “center” of the lamp and the “lamp” itself. I do not understand which of these is which, and which part of it actually shines.

Re: PointLamp vs Constraint

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:23 pm
by B.Y.O.B.
Looks like a bug in our Blender addon: the function drawing the lamp size does not use the correct lamp position if a constraint is involved.
Can you upload a small testscene that shows the problem?
The true lamp position should be Blender's widget on the left.

Re: PointLamp vs Constraint

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:31 pm
by S0rda
Keep the file please. This bug occurs if you set the limiter on "On the surface" and move the lamp.

Re: PointLamp vs Constraint

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:32 pm
by S0rda
untitled.blend
(468.16 KiB) Downloaded 25 times

Re: PointLamp vs Constraint

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:42 pm
by S0rda
Forgot to specify my data.
Windows 10, Blender 2.79, last version LuxRender addon for Blender.

Re: PointLamp vs Constraint

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:45 pm
by B.Y.O.B.
Thanks for the report, I fixed the problem.
https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/BlendL ... issues/240

Re: PointLamp vs Constraint

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 5:06 pm
by S0rda
However, what should I do?

Re: PointLamp vs Constraint

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 5:10 pm
by B.Y.O.B.
Either wait for the next release or download a daily build: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=736 (note, daily builds are unstable and should not be used in production)

Or you apply the patch I did manually, it's just one line: https://github.com/LuxCoreRender/BlendL ... aac6451f7a

Re: PointLamp vs Constraint

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 5:16 pm
by S0rda
Can you tell me how I can use this fix? From the command line blender?

Re: PointLamp vs Constraint

Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 5:46 pm
by B.Y.O.B.
The github page contains all the necessary information, but it might be a bit hard to read for someone not used to it.
Open your Blender addon folder and go into the BlendLuxCore folder, then into the "handlers" folder.
Then open the file draw_3dview.py in a text editor and replace the line marked in red with the line marked in green.

Note that this is just a cosmetic bug, so for the render itself it doesn't matter if you have the fix or not.