Which binary to link with FreeCad to render?

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
Post Reply
ChintusTheGreat
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 11:22 am

Which binary to link with FreeCad to render?

Post by ChintusTheGreat » Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:08 am

After I installed the precompiled LuxCoreRender binaries, I found 4 binaries: luxcoreui, luxcoreconsole, luxcoredemo, luxcorescenedemo. But when I went to FreeCad, it asked for Luxrender binary. When I pointed it to luxcoreui, I couldn't save my renders in a .png format. Which binary do I link it to and how do I save my render as an image?

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Posts: 1015
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: Which binary to link with FreeCad to render?

Post by Sharlybg » Thu Feb 07, 2019 10:32 am

There is no addon to work with Freecad currently. you must import your Model to blender and work with Blendluxcore addon.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

acasta69
Developer
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:45 pm

Re: Which binary to link with FreeCad to render?

Post by acasta69 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:17 pm

ChintusTheGreat wrote:
Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:08 am
When I pointed it to luxcoreui, I couldn't save my renders in a .png format.
I gave it a try and it seems that LuxCoreUI crashes for some reason when selecting "Save Outputs" command after it was started from within FreeCAD.
As a workaround, you could export the raytracing project and then separately run LuxCoreUI to render it. In that case "Save Outputs" works fine.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Windows 10 64 bits, i7-4770 3.4 GHz, RAM 16 GB, GTX 970 4GB v382.05

ChintusTheGreat
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 11:22 am

Re: Which binary to link with FreeCad to render?

Post by ChintusTheGreat » Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:27 pm

acasta69 wrote:
Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:17 pm
ChintusTheGreat wrote:
Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:08 am
When I pointed it to luxcoreui, I couldn't save my renders in a .png format.
I gave it a try and it seems that LuxCoreUI crashes for some reason when selecting "Save Outputs" command after it was started from within FreeCAD.
As a workaround, you could export the raytracing project and then separately run LuxCoreUI to render it. In that case "Save Outputs" works fine.
Thanks! Now it works nicely. :D

User avatar
Sharlybg
Donor
Posts: 1015
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:11 pm
Location: Ivory Coast

Re: Which binary to link with FreeCad to render?

Post by Sharlybg » Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:34 pm

Sorry misreading again :arrow:
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Portfolio : https://www.behance.net/DRAVIA

acasta69
Developer
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:45 pm

Re: Which binary to link with FreeCad to render?

Post by acasta69 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 3:51 pm

Well, the FreeCAD exporter is indeed very old, it was built for Luxrender and the lxs format, and using it with Luxcore is probably far from ideal.
I am not sure if every Luxcore option is available with that format, but it is always possible to export everything in Luxcore format from LuxCoreUI, from menu Rendering --> Export.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Windows 10 64 bits, i7-4770 3.4 GHz, RAM 16 GB, GTX 970 4GB v382.05

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 2125
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Which binary to link with FreeCad to render?

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Thu Feb 07, 2019 4:10 pm

acasta69 wrote:
Thu Feb 07, 2019 3:51 pm
I am not sure if every Luxcore option is available with that format
No, definitely nothing of the new stuff, and only a subset of the features in LuxRender 1.6.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

Post Reply