render selected

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
Post Reply
User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Posts: 526
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

render selected

Post by lacilaci » Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:04 am

Would it be possible to have a feature to render only selected object? Like automask and render only that specific object.
It would be super useful to preview render only selected object(s) but with all the lighting and reflection of the scene
also for small tweaks of materials for compositing.

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 1654
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm

Re: render selected

Post by Dade » Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:19 am

lacilaci wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:04 am
Would it be possible to have a feature to render only selected object? Like automask and render only that specific object.
It would be super useful to preview render only selected object(s) but with all the lighting and reflection of the scene
also for small tweaks of materials for compositing.
At the moment, it is possible to get the mask of an object doing a first rendering (it is used to select an object by clicking over the image in LuxCoreUI) than it would be possible to do a rendering using an arbitrary image mask. The support for te second step is missing at the moment (but it is doable).

An alternative could be to use the mask coming from the first step to compute the 2D image bounding box of the object and than do automatically a simple border rendering. It is a less optimized option but it would be doable without implementing any additional feature in LuxCore.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1918
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: render selected

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:29 am

You could use a render layer in Blender:
Put the object on an extra layer and make sure that only this layer is selected in the renderlayer's "layer" list (top right).
This makes all objects on other layers invisible to the camera, so you still get correct lighting on the object.
2019-01-11_11-28-10.png
Dade wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:19 am
An alternative could be to use the mask coming from the first step to compute the 2D image bounding box of the object and than do automatically a simple border rendering. It is a less optimized option but it would be doable without implementing any additional feature in LuxCore.
I think the bounding box computation could be done from Python in Blender (no need to render the 2D mask).
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
lacilaci
Donor
Posts: 526
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 5:16 am

Re: render selected

Post by lacilaci » Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:33 am

B.Y.O.B. wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:29 am
You could use a render layer in Blender:
Put the object on an extra layer and make sure that only this layer is selected in the renderlayer's "layer" list (top right).
This makes all objects on other layers invisible to the camera, so you still get correct lighting on the object.

2019-01-11_11-28-10.png
Dade wrote:
Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:19 am
An alternative could be to use the mask coming from the first step to compute the 2D image bounding box of the object and than do automatically a simple border rendering. It is a less optimized option but it would be doable without implementing any additional feature in LuxCore.
I think the bounding box computation could be done from Python in Blender (no need to render the 2D mask).
Thanks...
But I still think it should be a feature... (like a checkbox in render settings "render selected")

Post Reply