Clamp/Emission Material/Compositor

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
Post Reply
User avatar
Racleborg
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:31 am
Location: UK

Clamp/Emission Material/Compositor

Post by Racleborg » Thu Nov 29, 2018 1:39 am

Hi

When setting up an Emission Material (ID) with the Compositor, it all works fine without clamping. But when I set the Suggested Clamp Value, then it doesn't appear to work at all?

Thanks

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1806
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Clamp/Emission Material/Compositor

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:23 am

Scene and/or some screenshots please :)
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
Racleborg
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:31 am
Location: UK

Re: Clamp/Emission Material/Compositor

Post by Racleborg » Thu Nov 29, 2018 12:17 pm

B.Y.O.B

Link to scene https://1drv.ms/u/s!AhdwgLaw01tLjxEZ2ZGfWtp3oFGm

Images attached.

Thanks
Attachments
Clamp Off.JPG
Clamp On.JPG

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1806
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Clamp/Emission Material/Compositor

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:05 pm

Looks like the suggested clamping value is too low.
Try higher values.
Also, you might have to lower your glare thresholds in the compositor a bit if you use clamping.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
Racleborg
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:31 am
Location: UK

Re: Clamp/Emission Material/Compositor

Post by Racleborg » Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:26 pm

B.Y.O.B

Thanks, I'll try that out later today.

User avatar
Racleborg
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:31 am
Location: UK

Re: Clamp/Emission Material/Compositor

Post by Racleborg » Thu Nov 29, 2018 2:45 pm

B.Y.O.B

Is there a best amount of time rendering to set the Suggested Clamp Value. It appears to change a little bit over time?

User avatar
B.Y.O.B.
Developer
Posts: 1806
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 10:08 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Clamp/Emission Material/Compositor

Post by B.Y.O.B. » Thu Nov 29, 2018 3:08 pm

No, it is estimated once after 10 seconds.
In the most recent code it was changed to run once after 2 samples I think.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
Racleborg
Posts: 208
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:31 am
Location: UK

Re: Clamp/Emission Material/Compositor

Post by Racleborg » Thu Nov 29, 2018 11:18 pm

Hi B.Y.O.B

I seem to have been fighting against myself/a typical Catch 22:

Up the light strength to drive compositor, but to reduce the fireflies I have to clamp, and just when the fireflies are gone then so are the compositor effects, so I up the light strength etc etc......

And the above has been the same whether I use a Material ID or the Light group in the Compositor.

That was the bad news. The good news, which appears to be working great, is to render the scene (clamped) then render the effects (not clamped) then mix the two together! :D :D

Post Reply