Off-loading

Use this forum for general user support and related questions.
Post Reply
User avatar
Racleborg
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:31 am
Location: UK

Off-loading

Post by Racleborg » Sun Nov 04, 2018 12:27 pm

Hi

If a scene is too large to fit on a GPU, can it then off-load the difference to the CPU? (My old GTX660 2mb is often struggling)

Thanks

User avatar
Dade
Developer
Posts: 1458
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2017 8:36 pm

Re: Off-loading

Post by Dade » Sun Nov 04, 2018 12:34 pm

Racleborg wrote:
Sun Nov 04, 2018 12:27 pm
If a scene is too large to fit on a GPU, can it then off-load the difference to the CPU? (My old GTX660 2mb is often struggling)
Very latest GPUs can use their ram as a cache of all CPU RAM so you can render whatever fit in your CPU ram but it something requiring hardware support (and the GTX660 doesn't). This feature works with any software (it is like CPU virtual memory where is the OS doing all the job of swapping on disk the RAM).

Some software directly support "out of core" rendering but it is a very complex (and slow) feature.

P.S. some software claims to support "out of core" rendering but it is just the hardware feature I described.
Support LuxCoreRender project with salts and bounties

User avatar
Racleborg
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 10:31 am
Location: UK

Re: Off-loading

Post by Racleborg » Sun Nov 04, 2018 12:36 pm

Hi Dade

Thank you for the explanation.

Post Reply